You are at Yebber
At Yebber, you can rate, review & find everything from restaurants & shopping to hotels & spas
Notice something wrong here? Edit Business Info
Read Reviews
3.8
from 1 to 5
6 Reviews
1 Harbourfront Walk
#02-41/42, VivoCity
Singapore
Postal code: Show postal code
Telephone: (65) 6272-0822
Website:
Category:
Shopping » Books & Stationery
Photos of Page One (VivoCity) - ShoppingPhotos of Page One (VivoCity) - Shopping

    Overall Rating:
    » 6 Reviews for “Page One (VivoCity) ” - Shopping


  1. Pharque
     50
       
     02 Oct 2007 at 3:03 pm

    The only few mega book stores that you can sit there all day reading-without-buying and still not kena chased out by shop.

    I had to find books on Rock, Metal, Death, Black Magic, Satanism, Lucifer, whatnots, and this place has it all. Fictional, or resources style.

    There's even seats for you to sit around and be frozen to death (no thanks to their freezing air-con).

    I actually find their staff a little snobbish, not helpful, and their favourite reply to you when you ask for their assistants are "There only, you look for it again lor."

    I think that should be their company culture.

    Stationery is of course more pricey than Popular bookstores, but they carry more variety and designs, especially from Japan.

    I like their variety, but spare me your SNOOB.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:4 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. PuNiaoPuNiao
      PuNiaoPuNiao said:
      must understand, page one under-staff leh... air con wise control by vivo one, boh pian... just carry more tissu lor...
      06 Mar 2008 at 11:53 pm
    2. Pharque
      Pharque said:
      I understand that you are kind...but this is simply not an excuse for bad service. and if aircon controlled by vivo, why are other stores' aircons just nice???
      10 Mar 2008 at 5:06 pm
    3. PuNiaoPuNiao
      PuNiaoPuNiao said:
      I have absolutely no idea. Try going to Pacific Coffee or Starbucks before 10am and you'll realise there's no aircon... until 10am
      21 Jun 2008 at 12:17 am
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  2. Bobo
     154
          
     25 Sep 2007 at 11:30 pm

    Page One at Vivo is a moderate-sized bookstore with split levels. The higher section is for the Chinese books and the lower one for English.

    Variety - They sure cramped a whole lot of books in this place. All the shelves are well filled from top to bottom. Some of the shelves are unusually high and they have little ladders at strategic places. I, being quite short, didn't notice the ladders at first and was jumping for some of the books on the higher shelf. I enjoy many sections in a bookstore and certainly appreciated how they had such a large Chinese section. Their books range from the recently published to those that look really before my time.

    Service - Although the staff looked really busy and it's hard to find one standing around, they have people manning information counters well-placed around the store. Just approach the counters and someone would lead you to the right place. That's good service. I also noticed one of them tending to a lady patiently, offering additional information and his opinion on some of the books, which is beyond what I would expect.

    Layout - Horrid really. The shelves are not neatly placed and have a certain "design" to them. The signs to the various sections are painted on the pillars and are not pointing in any obvious direction. Some steps are not easily seen and could cause a fall or two. Thank goodness for the staff or I wouldn't have found what I needed.

    All in all? I like bookstores and this is one I like but I wish I needn't spend time trying to find my way about the place.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:4 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +5
    Comments on this review:
    1. Endoh Taiki
      Endoh Taiki said:
      Just don't fall beside me... I will freak out. Hahaha!
      26 Sep 2007 at 2:22 am
    2. PuNiaoPuNiao
      PuNiaoPuNiao said:
      u dun say, some customers never realise there's a stationery section at the back of the store leh.. lol...
      07 Mar 2008 at 12:00 am
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  3. Endoh Taiki
     11
       
     24 Sep 2007 at 11:50 am

    Page One @ Vivo doesn't have any special theme. I'm not quite sure whether if it's an upscale book store like Kinokuniya or Borders, it wasn't really close to any.

    The first thing I observed from the entrance was the small walkways leading into the store. Perhaps more space should be allocated there, since the entrance is the place with the highest human traffic. Imagine that you haven't even start your search for the books, you have to squeeze through the shelves and people clogged at the entrance.

    The other thing I observed, they allocated a small area with seats for talk-shows. In fact, when we were there there was indeed a talk-show going on. It is propped right at the side of the entrance and I guess that is a sign that there will be regular talk-shows on book reviews etc. Isn't it great?

    The decor of the place wasn't anything fantastic I guess. The usual huge bookshelves where every book is lined up side by side. One thing though, I didn't really see any displays of special featured publication. Maybe there are, but they are not eye-catching at all.

    Usually at a bookstore, I would only gun for two topics. Religious and Marketing/PR books. I was surprised that alot of popular titles and publications are not available here. I did a very quick scan around these two topics, I didn't really see much publications from famous marketing writers like Philip Kotler or once popular Naked Marketing. Religiously, I scouted for one of the top selling book titled The Decline & Fall of Church of Rome... again to no avail.

    The staffs were helpful and polite though. When I couldn't find the religious section, I was answered in a way I have never experienced in famous bookstores. "Sir, can you follow me please? I will lead you there," he answered with a smile. Some bookstores employees I encountered probably gonna point in a general direction and tell me it's there.

    My verdict? An average bookstore, if you look hard enough you might find some gems in there. However, I wished their topics can be arranged in a better way. What I didn't like for sure is the layout of the shelves, which makes crossing over to another shelf "complicated". I was almost trying to play "maze" in some part of the store.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:3 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +2
    Comments on this review:
    1. Bobo
      Bobo said:
      I would testify to the Maze thing... hehe
      25 Sep 2007 at 11:19 pm
    2. WishBoNe
      WishBoNe said:
      I don't like the maze thing. Too tedious to get to the section I want.
      06 Dec 2007 at 5:46 pm
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!


Write A Review

By checking this box, I agree with Yebber.com's Terms of Use.

Or use your Facebook account to create a new Yebber ID (no Registration form to fill)


(Minimum of 500 characters)

Rating

  (Click stars to rate)
1 Star - Please Avoid2 Stars - Below Average3 Stars - Average4 Stars - Good5 Stars - Excellent


April's Exchange Rate

1=SGD 0.0587

How Do I Earn Yebber$?
26 Yebbers Online!
Double Yebber Dollar Category for April:

Arts & Entertainment

Click here for future month