You are at Yebber
At Yebber, you can rate, review & find everything from restaurants & shopping to hotels & spas
Notice something wrong here? Edit Business Info
Read Reviews
4.3
from 1 to 5
3 Reviews
20A/B Liang Seah Street
Telephone: (65) 6837-1556
Category:
Restaurants » Chinese
Photos of Lai Lai Family Restaurant - RestaurantsPhotos of Lai Lai Family Restaurant - RestaurantsPhotos of Lai Lai Family Restaurant - RestaurantsPhotos of Lai Lai Family Restaurant - RestaurantsPhotos of Lai Lai Family Restaurant - Restaurants

Business hour: 11.30am - 3.00a.m. daily

    Overall Rating:
    » 3 Reviews for “Lai Lai Family Restaurant ” - Restaurants


  1. anoif
     4
       
     18 Aug 2011 at 4:30 pm

    During my daily discussion with colleagues on lunch options today, the words “Beef Noodles” were mentioned & I accepted in a heartbeat, for this is not just any beef noodles you get at a foodcourt, this was the Taiwanese beef noodles & I was immediately brought back to my trip to Taipei when I had beef noodles on a daily basis.

    Let it be known that this was my first visit to this eatery.

    Lai Lai Family Restaurant is located along Liang Seah Street and is a 2-storey establishment that serves authentic Taiwanese street food, with one of the signature items being the Beef Noodles. If you’ve had the beef noodles in Taiwan before, you’ll know that the noodles used are thick, off-white coloured noodles, similar to U-mian but a lot thicker. At Lai Lai however, you’re able to choose from the Taiwanese noodles, Vermicelli, Kway Teow and Mee Sua with your choice of serving size from Small ($7.90), Medium($8.80) & Large ($9.90). I chose my noodles in serving size, Small which is your regular size bowl you get a foodcourt, with the Taiwanese noodles for authencity’s sake and didn’t get a set. My colleague ordered the set which allows you to pick a side and a drink for $12.90. My colleague got the Braised Pork Intestines & Green Tea with Pearl. The Pork Intestines were served with ginger slices and although it has a very strong smell, it tastes amazing, with a very soft texture.

    The downside of this place though, is the wait staff’s attitude & waiting time. They weren’t friendly and when my food finally arrived after about a 20min wait, the staff mumbled out our orders and bother about smiling or looking at you in the eye. I should add that when we arrived, there was ample seating and by the time our food arrived, the level we were on was already packed.

    That aside, the noodles were excellent! Brought me back to Taiwan with the salted vegetables on the side and the deliciously, spicy chilli!

    All in all, if you’re craving for authentic Taiwanese food, or simply a good bowl of beef noodles, head on over to Lai Lai Family Restaurant for your fix! Just be prepared to wait a good while. I can’t imagine what the wait will be like for the dinner hour.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:4 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. genesis
      genesis said:
      Welcome to Yebber!
      19 Aug 2011 at 12:32 pm
    2. anoif
      anoif said:
      Thanks! looking forward to reading and writing more reviews! :)
      19 Aug 2011 at 3:15 pm
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  2. Azure1984
     43
       
     04 Oct 2008 at 12:53 am
       Lai Lai Family Restaurant - Restaurants

    Searching around on the Internet for some good food in Bugis turns out this recommendation. As its shopfront says, they are famous for their beef noodles. True to the website recommendation, the beef noodle did not disappoint me. It has been such a long time since I tasted a good and at least decent soup and beef chunks. The soup is not oily at all and certainly goes well with the noodle. If you ate it together with the small pieces of Cai Xin, it will further enhance the favour of the whole dish. The beef chunks, which is the soul of the whole dish, is cooked to just the correct tenderness, unlike some other beef chunks I had eaten in the past that is hard and dry. Overall, I can say that I am pretty satisfied with the meal. Service wise, they are just average, nothing good or bad to dwell on. Perhaps, the only thing that in my opinion that can be improved on is the price of the beef noodle. At $7.90 for a small size noodle, I feel that it is just a bit overpriced.

    Rate: 8/10

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:4 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
      Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
    1. Leenie Pigs
       424
            
       16 Sep 2008 at 11:20 pm
         Lai Lai Family Restaurant - Restaurants   Lai Lai Family Restaurant - Restaurants   Lai Lai Family Restaurant - Restaurants   Lai Lai Family Restaurant - Restaurants

      Those who like savoury rich food should come to lai lai. Serving authentic taiwanese street fare, Lai Lai is a total Gem...

      I love the Lu Ruo Fan the Best. Richly Braised Pork with nuts in a tasty soya sauce and some sour preserved veg... It is THE BEST i have ever eaten. Thinking about it makes my mouth water... They have other food like Red Vermicillia... Is that how u spell Mee Swar... and also their braised beef noodle is also a killer. I like the fact that they use pearl rice.. Its nice tasty and chewy... Very Very Yummy! A good assortments of interesting dishes.. which i will not mention and You will find out for yourself what you like best.

      For snacks i prefer the chessy funky prata... It has many ingredients inside yet smaller then the muthabak... Very interesting and yummy.. A MUST TRY!

      The drinks are interesting too.. I always love the pearl milk tea and i still do...... the pearl is so QQ so Chewy and have a tinge of honey sweet inside. Another must try is their yoghurt drink. Thats what I call healthy yummy food..

      Have a taste of Taiwan.. Come to Lai Lai.. Now we know why Wu Zhong Xian don't want to migrate.... Food is So good... Who wants to leave.........

      Tags: 3  add tags
      Rating given:5 stars
      Was this review useful?  
       
        +0
      Comments on this review:
      1. feizhu
        feizhu said:
        Just wondering, have you tried Peng Lai Ge at Joo Chiat?
        17 Sep 2008 at 12:36 am
      2. Leenie Pigs
        Leenie Pigs said:
        Hm... Never Leh.. Waiting for you to Intro......
        17 Sep 2008 at 8:50 am
      3. feizhu
        feizhu said:
        ah? I eat there for lunch somtimes and I think its not bad. But I've not tried lai lai so I can't compare.
        17 Sep 2008 at 4:56 pm
      4. 1 more comment »
      Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
      


    Write A Review

    By checking this box, I agree with Yebber.com's Terms of Use.

    Or use your Facebook account to create a new Yebber ID (no Registration form to fill)


    (Minimum of 500 characters)

    Rating

      (Click stars to rate)
    1 Star - Please Avoid2 Stars - Below Average3 Stars - Average4 Stars - Good5 Stars - Excellent


    November's Exchange Rate

    1=SGD 0.0587

    How Do I Earn Yebber$?
    31 Yebbers Online!
    Double Yebber Dollar Category for November:

    Sport & Recreation

    Click here for future month