You are at Yebber
At Yebber, you can rate, review & find everything from restaurants & shopping to hotels & spas
Notice something wrong here? Edit Business Info
Read Reviews
3.3
from 1 to 5
3 Reviews
4 Tampines Central 5
#04-23/24 Tampines Mall
Singapore
Postal code: Show postal code
Telephone: (65) 6587-1911
Website:
Category:
Restaurants » Steakhouses
Photos of Phin’s Beerhaus And Grill Steakhouse (Tampines Mall) - RestaurantsPhotos of Phin’s Beerhaus And Grill Steakhouse (Tampines Mall) - RestaurantsPhotos of Phin’s Beerhaus And Grill Steakhouse (Tampines Mall) - RestaurantsPhotos of Phin’s Beerhaus And Grill Steakhouse (Tampines Mall) - RestaurantsPhotos of Phin’s Beerhaus And Grill Steakhouse (Tampines Mall) - Restaurants

    Overall Rating:
    » 3 Reviews for “Phin’s Beerhaus And Grill Steakhouse (Tampines Mall) ” - Restaurants


  1. Nicnic
     113
       
     24 Sep 2008 at 12:15 am

    Phins is one of the place i frequent when i have craving for steaks coz frankly their food is quite alright with reasonable pricing. even though id say that their variety of food other than steaks are quite limited.

    Phins @ tampines usually provide pretty efficient services. i do not have to take long to be seated. and food are being served quite quickly.

    pricing are alright as the most premium grade beef usually only cost about $30.

    generally i think the only but strong attraction point of phins to me is their steak. subsequently their services.

    however, there are some cons id have to mention. their medium rare is always not medium rare. hah. it usually come in just medium and its just not as shiok as i wanted it to be.

    secondly, theres a particular new waiter who is quite annoying. i wanted to 'upsize' my side dish and top up the amount. i politely ask the waiter if its possible even though i know it IS, from past experience.

    but he gave me a super puzzled look and told me its not possible. i further asked him if hes sure and he tried to give me a firm no.

    i understand that hes new and he might not know everything so soon. however, id appreciate that he check things out if hes unsure, and not to try to 'entertain' me without finding out.

    i had to order from the waiter that i usually place my order with to get what i want :(

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:3 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      --1
      Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
    1. Lucardia
       234
            
       15 Jan 2008 at 9:05 pm
         Phin   Phin   Phin   Phin   Phin

      Phin's beerhaus and grille is an unassuming, open concept eating place set on the 4th floor of Tampines mall. First looks did not impress and honestly, i've passed by this place so many times but never had the urge to try it till today. An offshoot of its bigger upmarket cousin, Phin's steakhouse, how does this lone restaurant fare? Read on.

      The first thing i need to say about this restaurant is the service. We were served by a waiter jovial and professional waiter who required nothing to jote down our orders while being able to tell us exactly what they had and did not have for the day. He was also kind enough to introduce a different cut of meat which turned out rather well in my opinion. If only waiters in other establishments could be as good as him, i'd gladly pay service charges. (La Noce is another place where the service staff is simply excellent.)

      Australian Grain Fed Tenderloin ($28.90) - As recommended by the waiter, i took the Australian grain fed tenderloin which was a time limited offer. According to him, the meat is superior, better marbled and contains less fat as compared to the normal offerings. I don't presume myself an expert on this matter, but i must say the meat was pretty good. Done medium rare, slightly charred on the edges with a small lump of butter sizzling atop, this reminds me of the good days when Jack's place was still making good food. That said, the meat was juicy and the butter added much to the already succulent and tasty steak. Pity about the portion size which i felt was rather small (even though it took me 15 minutes to finish.)

      Soup of the Day, Garlic Bread and Salad ($19.90 set meal) - My gf's set meal, which means i got to try everything a little again, no prizes for guessing if my girth is increasing. The salad was fresh, sweet and crunchy while the garlic bread fragrant and went well with the accompanying creamy mushroom soup. A good starter.

      Seafood Pesto Carbonara - This came as a surprise. The serving was quite generous with 2 huge scallops, 1 pan fried dory fillet and half slipper lobster set atop a bed of fettucinne cooked with pesto carbonara and mushrooms. The serving alone is worth commending and this is further accented by the fact that it tasted pretty good. It was quite spicy and tasted simple at the same time, allowing for an appetizing feeling without being overwhelming. The ingredients used were also equally fresh and everything tasted juicy and sweet. Nicely done.

      Brownie Surprise ($8.90) - The brownie surprise really did come as a surprise because i saw more ice cream on the dish then brownies which were actually cut into small pieces and served as an accompaniment rather then the main draw. The ice cream was creamy and and smooth. The flavors served were cookies and cream, mocha and one which i can't quite make out. The brownie was rather dry but the melting ice cream made up for that oversight.

      Dessert of the day (Mango Pudding with sugar icing) - The final part to the set meal was this mango pudding. Light, refreshing and sweet, this was a good ending for the meal.

      The final bill came up to $67.90 for 2 people, its not cheap but the service and food quality made up for it.

      I'm really quite surprised with how good this place is. I went in with very little expectations and was pleasantly surprised with the service and quality of food given its unassuming and rather small outlet. The lack of customers was also a plus for me since i dislike jostling with people when i dine, and that is difficult in a place like Tampines mall. Nonetheless, i'd recommend a try for people in the vicinity. Try it once to see if you like the place. (Though i'll say it first, the place definitely needs a cosmetic makeover and location change. *winks*)

      Tags: 3  add tags
      Rating given:4 stars
      Was this review useful?  
       
        --1
      Comments on this review:
      1. ladyironchef
        ladyironchef said:
        Cool! so the phins at liang seah and this one has diff menu? u been to the liang seah one before?
        15 Jan 2008 at 9:12 pm
      2. Lucardia
        Lucardia said:
        Actually, not yet. Lol. I understand that Liang Seah is the steakhouse and this is the beerhaus.
        15 Jan 2008 at 10:09 pm
      Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
    2. Bobo
       154
            
       31 Dec 2007 at 10:57 am
         Phin   Phin   Phin

      I was here 3 years ago when it first opened. That time the staff was very inexperienced and I waited 45 minutes for iced water and 2 hours for my Fish and Chips.

      Finally gathering enough courage, I went again recently with another friend. The previous ones were too disappointed the first time to visit with me again.

      We were there on a weekday afternoon so we were the only ones in the restaurant. So we were served promptly.

      Food Ordered:

      Wild Mushroom Soup ($4.90) It's obviously Mushroom Soup, served with garlic toast. It was thick and creamy, which was a nice surprise.

      Seafood Platter ($13.90) A good serving of fish, chips, calamari and prawn, served with salad. I liked the fish a lot. The flesh was light and tasted great. The batter was not too heavy so I didn't feel too sick eating it all up. It was quite a large serving for a girl but I was really hungry. Ribeye Steak - Gentlemen's cut ($19.90) It came sizzling and did look presentable. However my companion commented that it was mediocre and was not as done as he wanted it.

      The funny thing about it was that we were quite busy chatting when the food arrived so it was left alone a bit then the waiter came back 5 minutes later to remind us to have it while it's warm. so cute.

      Service has improved tremendously. It cost $43.60 for both of us... so it was alright I guess. I'll visit again just not order the steak. :)

      Tags: 3  add tags
      Rating given:3 stars
      Was this review useful?  
       
        --1
      Comments on this review:
      1. Lucardia
        Lucardia said:
        Hey! I just did a review of phin's on my other blog as well. lol. I liked it. Good service indeed.
        31 Dec 2007 at 11:04 am
      2. Bobo
        Bobo said:
        So Qiao! Yup the service has improved A LOT since I last went. Phew. :)
        31 Dec 2007 at 5:47 pm
      3. ladyironchef
        ladyironchef said:
        i been to Phin's at liang seah street before too. hahaha
        06 Jan 2008 at 5:40 pm
      4. 1 more comment »
      Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
      


    Write A Review

    By checking this box, I agree with Yebber.com's Terms of Use.

    Or use your Facebook account to create a new Yebber ID (no Registration form to fill)


    (Minimum of 500 characters)

    Rating

      (Click stars to rate)
    1 Star - Please Avoid2 Stars - Below Average3 Stars - Average4 Stars - Good5 Stars - Excellent


    July's Exchange Rate

    1=SGD 0.0587

    How Do I Earn Yebber$?
    23 Yebbers Online!
    Double Yebber Dollar Category for July:

    Restaurants

    Click here for future month