You are at Yebber
At Yebber, you can rate, review & find everything from restaurants & shopping to hotels & spas
Notice something wrong here? Edit Business Info
Read Reviews
3.0
from 1 to 5
7 Reviews
9 Bras Basah Road
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore
Singapore
Postal code: Show postal code
Telephone: (65) 6335-1777
Website:
Category:
Restaurants » Buffet, Deli & Cafe , Malay & Indonesian , International
Photos of Straits Cafe @ Rendezvous - RestaurantsPhotos of Straits Cafe @ Rendezvous - RestaurantsPhotos of Straits Cafe @ Rendezvous - RestaurantsPhotos of Straits Cafe @ Rendezvous - RestaurantsPhotos of Straits Cafe @ Rendezvous - Restaurants

Dine in the casual elegance of Straits Cafe whilst enjoying superb cuisine, friendly service and genuine value. Straits Cafe @ Rendezvous offers international dishes and local specialties prepared by our world class chefs. Offering buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner 24/7 as well as a diverse a la carte menu

Breakfast - 7.00am to 10.30am Lunch - 12.00pm to 2.30pm Hi-Tea - 3.00pm to 5.30pm (Sat,Sun,PH) Dinner - 6.30pm - 10.00pm

    Overall Rating:
    » 7 Reviews for “Straits Cafe @ Rendezvous ” - Restaurants


  1. mik
     9
       
     08 Apr 2009 at 1:00 pm
       Straits Cafe @ Rendezvous - Restaurants   Straits Cafe @ Rendezvous - Restaurants   Straits Cafe @ Rendezvous - Restaurants   Straits Cafe @ Rendezvous - Restaurants

    Went for dinner buffet at straits cafe with my family. The place has warm lighting which makes the ambience really great for fine dining. the place we sat at has sofa seats with cushions making it really comfortable.

    there is a wide selection of food, from the normal sashimi, sushi, steak to more high end fresh raw oyster and laksa.but the oyster was not as fresh according to my mum and quite small in size..

    i thot the laksa would seem quite out of place but no, it taste really good. my dad cant help but have 2 servings of it.

    the overall taste of the food was satisfactory only but the dessert was the best, especially the durian 1s that it is famous for. the durian cake, pengot and puff were all made of real durians with really rich taste. something which we enjoyed the most!!

    the price at 40 is really too high for international buffet like this, but is more worth a try if you use dbs credit card to pay cos there is a buy 2 get 1 free kind of offer. so the 6 of us that went spent about $210 which was quite ok..

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:3 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
      Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
    1. ladyironchef
       301
           
       02 Apr 2009 at 8:57 am
         Straits Cafe @ Rendezvous - Restaurants   Straits Cafe @ Rendezvous - Restaurants   Straits Cafe @ Rendezvous - Restaurants   Straits Cafe @ Rendezvous - Restaurants   Straits Cafe @ Rendezvous - Restaurants

      Fifteen days. As we ushered into the Chinese new year, this time, our cow friends. The date at Straits café, cong-er and feng-er indulged for the finest feast. It has been the longest time since cong-er remember the last time she had lo-hei, and the first time for feng-er to try Poon Choi. The rabbits, the goat, and the pig. Triple harmony.

      The finest. All in one pot. The best to start a brand new year. A traditional Chinese new year delicacy, Poon Choi ($198 for 5 person), composed of many layers of premium seafood, meat and vegetables. Abalone, shark fin, scallop, sea cucumber, prawns, Chinese sausages, duck feet, roasted meat, mushroom, fa-cai. A total of 14 ingredients, & 6 hours of effort. A symbol of wealth and prosperity, the abalone and shark fins in the middle. The whole taste was simple divine! Sea cucumber, or Hoi sam, a secret for our ladies to stay eighteen every year. Although the roasted pork wasn’t crispy anymore, but the meat was brought to another level after immersing in the pot with the other ingredients. And not to mention the Chinese sausages, which had the normal red colour ones, and the darker coloured, liver sausages. The duck feet was there in place of goose feet; my first time trying it. Without being overly salty, the gravy absorbed the essence of all the top ingredients. Worth its weight in gold.

      The Prosperity Yu Sheng, with the vibrant colours, that so reminded us of the joy and happiness during the festive season. Every year without fail, the auspicious Chinese salad will present itself. Tossing the vegetables, the aim is to attain a higher high, just like our life. Wishing Gong xi fa cai, Nian nian you yu, all the lucky greetings for our family and friends. With a choice of salmon or ikan parang, Straits cafe rendition comes in $38, $48 and $58 for its small (2-4 person), medium (5-7 person) and large (8-10 person) portions respectively. All buffet at Straits cafe with the exception for high tea, includes free flow of Fa Cai Yusheng.

      After the new renovation of the restaurant during Oct 2008, Straits cafe reopened amidst much fanfare, with the contemporary design and transparent windows which allowed natural lighting to fill the restaurant, and for those interested, people-watching as well.

      By order, one will usually start with the salad counter, with some appetising greens to clear the palates before moving on to the savouries. Not that I care anyway, the temptation to resist the desserts were too much for me. Those pretty, petite sweets, we started taking photos of them first, of course. Nonetheless, I enjoyed the pork belly for my stomach to begin on a light note.

      Another great appetiser, the chicken salad was just as refreshing as any green salad. The slightly sweet and sour Thai sauce, enhanced the chicken, making it a welcoming starter.

      The cold seafood station which has the likes of fresh oyster, cold crabs, squids, and prawns. You know Singaporeans being Singaporeans, the likelihood that they attacked the most expensive food in the buffet is palpable to all. And with fresh oysters, it definitely helps.

      Special praises must be reserved for the chefs whom consistently cooks up each bowl of the infamous Straits café Nonya laksa. For that day, there’s also the bak ku teh available. There will changes everyday, with wanton mee, satay been hoon, lor mee rotating, alongside the mainstay laksa.

      The infamous Straits cafe Nonya laksa. A bowl of this local favourite, was enough to justify the popularity and status of this dish to the restaurant. Nonya laksa comes slightly sour sweet, with rich and strongly spiced coconut gravy. However, the oiliness of the laksa meant that not everybody could accept it. One man’s meat is another man’s poison.

      Jumping from the local dimension, we found ourselves in the Japanese era. The sushi platter was easily another favourite of diners there. Within minutes of a new plate brought out, the platter looks sad, not that the sushi wasn’t good, but because everything was finish.

      The freshness of the Sashimis were maintained by keeping them inside a transparent closet, to minimise the contact with the air. Also to let people take as little as possible! Well, just her mischievous thought, I’m sure the chefs would be more than happy to let you have your fill of sashimis.

      Lo-and-behold! The key player for Straits cafe’s dessert counter. Without a doubt, the Durian Pengat definitely was the one we were eagerly anticipating. Well maybe not we, since i’m not a durian lover. The D24 durian smell was so evident that we would have wager our fortune betting on it. I’ve two spoonful, since almost everybody says it’s so, so good, and the sight of people taking a few of the shooter glass at one go, it’s certainly in the bag.

      Moving on from the durian pengat, we have the equally famous durian cake. But after tasting the strong D24 durian in the pengat, I found the taste for the durian cake relatively subtle and light. And it’s a good thing since i’ve no qualms finishing the cake. This might not be the case if i’ve start with the cake first before the pengat.

      The macha mousse had one of the strongest macha taste, and it’s good for the macha lovers. Most places scrimped on the tea leaves to cut cost obviously, but the generous fulsome mousse definitely surprised us.

      We heard good things about their cheesecakes, however the signature New York cheesecake was nowhere in sight.The blueberry cheesecake was there to save the day. Between the boundaries of the heavy cheesy purist favourites, and the light airy rendition, I’ll say it’s somewhere in the middle. And the best part, you can have as many slices as you want!

      There are some who boomed and come of age later than others. The Mandarin orange cheesecake was our reward for being adventurous, not giving up without another walk to the desserts counter for the New York cheesecake. Instead of that, we found ourselves with this new cake, in celebration of our Chinese new year. But, the dessert disappointed us as the cheesecake was rather crumbly, not as firm as we thought it will be, and the mandarin oranges were too sweet, which we suspected that it had some help from the sugary syrup.

      On first sight, the ice cream bar looks just to be an ordinary one, featuring the likes of your Walls, and Kings ice cream. But boy we were wrong. The black sesame and raspberry gelato were great, definitely not your cheap ice creams. And my favourite, the vanilla bean flavour!

      I must say I’m impressed with the variety and spread of the buffet, given the pricing and the location of the restaurant, it’s good that Hotel Rendezvous recognised that they can’t position themselves against the high-end buffets with the likes of The Line, Melt the world cafe. But by bridging the distance between the expensive and the cheap buffets, Straits cafe provided a good alternative to those who wanted good food, without spending too much.

      My thanks to Christina, the marketing communication manager of Rendezvous Hotel Singapore, who invited me for the food tasting session. And also my dining companions, who provided me with great knowledge of the food, good company and fun. A happy Chinese New Year to all of you!

      You are always welcome to visit ladyironchef for a full-up on this trip. Whatever written herein are my genuine feelings expressed in words. Food, my dear, is what they call an adventure!

      Tags: 3  add tags
      Rating given:3 stars
      Was this review useful?  
       
        +0
      Comments on this review:
      1. ladyironchef
        ladyironchef said:
        i just realise i din post this after looking at jon's review. haha
        02 Apr 2009 at 8:58 am
      2. krisandro
        krisandro said:
        So you should share your Yebber$ with him. :p
        02 Apr 2009 at 10:03 am
      3. ladyironchef
        ladyironchef said:
        oh no. yebber$ already not enough liao. HA! when are you going to increase the rates? :D
        02 Apr 2009 at 11:29 am
      4. 2 more comments »
      Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
    2. Lucardia
       234
            
       01 Apr 2009 at 11:31 pm
         Straits Cafe @ Rendezvous - Restaurants   Straits Cafe @ Rendezvous - Restaurants   Straits Cafe @ Rendezvous - Restaurants   Straits Cafe @ Rendezvous - Restaurants   Straits Cafe @ Rendezvous - Restaurants

      Another overdue post which happened more or less during the New Year time frame. Was invited along to this food tasting by FZ once again. Special thanks to both FZ and Christina, the marketing manager for graciously accepting my presence at this tasting.

      Straits cafe has a very down to earth feeling to me. Glass panels separate the business crowds and roads from the interiors and even more glass panels are used to separate the kitchen from the patrons. The interior is simple with LCD televisions adorning some parts to provide more entertainment while dining in.

      The selection is diverse and well thought out. Basically, i think it covers pretty much everything a buffet should cover. This is rather surprising because at first glance, it looked limited but when i went back to actually look and pick the food, there was a whole lot of variety and to say the least, having one item from each managed to stuff me to no end.

      What Chinese New Year would be complete without some Yu Sheng? So it was with Straits Cafe, they actually do it more DIY style which is found from the DIY counter. But as we were invited, we were fortunate to have the staff rehearse the entire routine for us. In terms of taste, the yu sheng is balanced but didn't really manage to wow anybody. Overall decent with thick fresh salmon and fragrant crackers.

      Needless to say, their rendition is glorious with overflowing ingredients. Lots of sharks fin, lots of pork belly, fish maw, abalone, prawns, lup cheong, mushrooms and dried scallops. Each individual pot is supposed to have been stewed for at least 6 hours before serving. In terms of taste, the abalone is certainly stewed till soft with a nice fragrance from the rest of the ingredients. I liked the pork belly, mushrooms, abalone and fa chai that was in this dish. Because i had a few other renditions of this after the meal, i have to say that this was one of the better ones i've had this year. Worth a try.

      The above shows the amount of items you can take from the counters and its not even the full picture yet. I felt that the food served here is pretty decent, items that are supposed to be fresh are fresh, with some exception in a few prawns i had. Worth mentioning will be the laksa which is suitably spicy and tasty also being surprisingly light. The sashimi counter is worth returning over and over again. So is the chilled seafood section with its oysters and shrimp. I also liked the meat section which had different versions of beef and the yam ring which i felt was pretty decent as well. The dessert section's cakes didn't quite catch my fancy apart from the durian pengat and durian puff. They were lighter and less concentrated then i would have liked though.

      Overall Score: 6.5/10

      Last word: I actually found the food here decent. Maybe its because Christina advised on how the executive chef is one with superb potential in his cooking or that their standard that day was above average. One honestly cannot expect too much from a buffet, after all, how good can food prepared en masse be? So taking it for what it is, this restaurant and this buffet works pretty well for me. It helps that the poon choi is the best i've had this year as well. Good effort.

      Tags: 3  add tags
      Rating given:3 stars
      Was this review useful?  
       
        +0
        Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!


      Write A Review

      By checking this box, I agree with Yebber.com's Terms of Use.

      Or use your Facebook account to create a new Yebber ID (no Registration form to fill)


      (Minimum of 500 characters)

      Rating

        (Click stars to rate)
      1 Star - Please Avoid2 Stars - Below Average3 Stars - Average4 Stars - Good5 Stars - Excellent


      July's Exchange Rate

      1=SGD 0.0587

      How Do I Earn Yebber$?
      15 Yebbers Online!
      Double Yebber Dollar Category for July:

      Restaurants

      Click here for future month