You are at Yebber
At Yebber, you can rate, review & find everything from restaurants & shopping to hotels & spas
Notice something wrong here? Edit Business Info
Read Reviews
2.0
from 1 to 5
5 Reviews
21 Choa Chu Kang Avenue 4
#B1-10/11 Lot 1
Singapore
Postal code: Show postal code
Telephone: 6769 3911
Category:
Restaurants » Deli & Cafe, Chinese
Photos of Wan Chai Hong Kong Tea Room 湾仔香港奶茶店 (Lot 1) - RestaurantsPhotos of Wan Chai Hong Kong Tea Room 湾仔香港奶茶店 (Lot 1) - RestaurantsPhotos of Wan Chai Hong Kong Tea Room 湾仔香港奶茶店 (Lot 1) - RestaurantsPhotos of Wan Chai Hong Kong Tea Room 湾仔香港奶茶店 (Lot 1) - RestaurantsPhotos of Wan Chai Hong Kong Tea Room 湾仔香港奶茶店 (Lot 1) - Restaurants

    Overall Rating:
    » 5 Reviews for “Wan Chai Hong Kong Tea Room 湾仔香港奶茶店 (Lot 1) ” - Restaurants


  1. kiyk
     56
       
     01 Dec 2008 at 5:56 pm

    I think the food at this place is simply too overpriced. The food is just average thus i dont think that it is worth the price. If the price can go down a little, say 10-15%, i would visit this place more often.

    However, the ambience of the place is rather nice with dim lightings and spacious and comfortable walking space. The staff there are also polite and attend to you promptly when you call for them.

    Also, perhaps they should have clearer signs to show customers what to do. As in where they are suppose to order and stuff.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:3 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
      Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
    1. yum-mi
       16
         
       08 Mar 2008 at 8:53 pm
         Wan Chai Hong Kong Tea Room 湾仔香港奶茶店 (Lot 1) - Restaurants   Wan Chai Hong Kong Tea Room 湾仔香港奶茶店 (Lot 1) - Restaurants   Wan Chai Hong Kong Tea Room 湾仔香港奶茶店 (Lot 1) - Restaurants   Wan Chai Hong Kong Tea Room 湾仔香港奶茶店 (Lot 1) - Restaurants   Wan Chai Hong Kong Tea Room 湾仔香港奶茶店 (Lot 1) - Restaurants

      Went there with my family for dinner. When we reached there, there wasn't many people so there's quite a lot of seats for us to choose. The place is clean and the teahouse is decorated with pictures of their food and sceneries of hong kong streets.

      My parents had tried their Wanchai Special Fried Rice before and highly recommended it to me. So, I ordered to have a try. It costs $6.20. True enough, the fried rice tastes great. The prawns in it are very fresh. Worth trying it.

      My sis had a bowl of Oyster Beef with Eggs at $6.50. Frankly speaking, it doesn't taste good at all. Nothing special at all.

      My parents ordered Claypot mixed beef at $9.60. I had a try on it and I think the gravy tastes great. Think it is done with herbs. The beef in it is very tender too. Worth trying it!

      We had also ordered a side dish, Deep fried Shrimps Dumpling at $5.50. There were around 6 pieces. It's very crispy and the Shrimps are very fresh too. Worth trying it too.

      To me, I think the food are rather over-priced. Service wise, they are polite and friendly and they will answer our doubts with patience.

      Tags: 3  add tags
      Rating given:3 stars
      Was this review useful?  
       
        +0
      Comments on this review:
      1. Bobo
        Bobo said:
        I think most of the HK cafe are overpriced...
        08 Mar 2008 at 9:46 pm
      2. Polarbear
        Polarbear said:
        Wahaha... agree with bobo but sometimes it is the closest we can get to hong kong food. wahahaha
        09 Mar 2008 at 12:05 am
      3. yum-mi
        yum-mi said:
        hmm. this is my first time trying hong kong food. :)
        09 Mar 2008 at 12:13 pm
      Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
    2. Kinshen
       10
         
       14 Dec 2007 at 1:45 am

      Went there ( Bishan Branch ) for a gathering with friends last week. Went there with huge anticipation of the food there, because i have long heard about the great milk teas and "po luo" buns at these hongkong-inspired cafes. However, i was largely dissapointed, perhaps because my expectations of them were to high.

      First things first, like the previous review said, the concept about the paying is very confusing, first we were asked to seat, than after ordering, we were told to pay at the cashier, its like wth, can't you tell you us to order first at the door, saving us the trouble of having to walk up and down, and also the drinks are self-service, in a way. You order the drinks, you pay the money, and you take it yourself. This is one big minus point, i mean to attract customers, the cafe must present itself in a way that it's customer-oriented, for example, they should just let you pay your bill at the counter after the meal, and not before the meal, its not as if we would run away without paying, also the drinks should be served, and not self-service. If like that, might as well i go to coffeshops or hawker centres.

      Next comes to the food, as i had already eaten that evening, i just ordered a zha jiang mian, i know its weird to order that in a hongkong cafe, but that's the cheapest noodle in the menu, and i think it costs about 8bucks or 6bucks, can't really remember. Anyway i also ordered a glass of milk tea, so of course the milk tea was here first, since we took it ourselves, the milk tea is just average, just the typical milk tea, except i find that the tea is somewhat has a bitter taste, i know teas have bitter taste, but normal teas have a fragrant dry slight biter taste, but this is not to my liking. Next comes the noodle, oh my god, the serving can only be described in one word : pathectic, its either they are trying to save on costs or they are encouraging the customers not to eat so much, but either way its really horrible. I could easily finish the noodles in the least 3mouhfuls the most 4-5. and the noodles are not that fantastic as well, the plating of the dish is nice, big white plate, noodles in the centre. I mean even a child knows that by doing that, the food will look visually appealing, but that the taste is otherwise. The noodle is not that springy, and the sauce is too thick, not enough of vinegar in the marination of the meat. Its not the original zha jiang mian.

      So overall, convenient place, the food can be improved on, ambience is average, price a little too steep for that kind of food standard.

      Tags: 3  add tags
      Rating given:2 stars
      Was this review useful?  
       
        +0
      Comments on this review:
      1. zihui
        zihui said:
        did you have to pay extra service charge?
        14 Dec 2007 at 11:50 am
      2. Kinshen
        Kinshen said:
        i am not sure leh, i think i paid about 12dollars for everything.
        15 Dec 2007 at 4:10 pm
      Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!


    Write A Review

    By checking this box, I agree with Yebber.com's Terms of Use.

    Or use your Facebook account to create a new Yebber ID (no Registration form to fill)


    (Minimum of 500 characters)

    Rating

      (Click stars to rate)
    1 Star - Please Avoid2 Stars - Below Average3 Stars - Average4 Stars - Good5 Stars - Excellent


    April's Exchange Rate

    1=SGD 0.0587

    How Do I Earn Yebber$?
    18 Yebbers Online!
    Double Yebber Dollar Category for April:

    Arts & Entertainment

    Click here for future month