You are at Yebber
At Yebber, you can rate, review & find everything from restaurants & shopping to hotels & spas
Notice something wrong here? Edit Business Info
Read Reviews
4.7
from 1 to 5
3 Reviews
24, Foch Road
Singapore
Postal code: Show postal code
Telephone: (65) +65 6297-5068
Category:
Eating Places » Coffee Shops

King of Pig Organ Soup? You got it!

    Overall Rating:
    » 3 Reviews for “Cheng Mun Chee Kee Pig’s Organ Soup King ” - Eating Places


  1. Helmet
     40
       
     26 Sep 2007 at 1:38 pm

    Happen to past by and decided to give it another try after so many years. I wonder whether this is the same stall at Allenby road many years back. But it seems that there is another stall with the same name ( but w/o the first word Cheng 正 ) at 01-34 in Eminent Plaza.

    The chilly is still as good as before. The soup is a little salty and sweet. But is definitely more tasty than many other stalls. The meat ball is nice and others are ok too except for the liver which is a little below standard today. It is hard and does not look fresh. May be it is over cooked.

    It is quite a good location for them. Not enough parking space so that everyone will eat and go to avoid 'summon' indirectly create a high turn over for the stall.

    I don't think I will give it a five but 4 is definitely justifiable.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:4 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +1
    Comments on this review:
    1. Endoh Taiki
      Endoh Taiki said:
      Yea, the third or fourth time my friends went... all of us running mad when the attendant came... haha!
      26 Sep 2007 at 10:03 pm
    2. Baye
      Baye said:
      The stall at Eminent Plaza, should be the subsidiary of the original because I tried it once and it tasted the same.
      26 Sep 2007 at 11:13 pm
    3. Helmet
      Helmet said:
      I doubt it is a subsidiary. I tasted it. No standard at all.
      03 Oct 2007 at 11:19 pm
    4. 1 more comment »
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  2. Baye
     7
       
     20 Sep 2007 at 12:20 am

    Hello, Endoh taiki, I can't agree with you more, it is the best Pig Organ Soup I ever tasted when one of my friends brought me to the stall a few years back and there no turning back ever since. You will never go to other pig organ soup outlets after eating from this stall. Even the Tiong Bahru stall that won the Channel U Best Pig organ soup cannot match this outlet. I don't know why others chosen Tiong Bahru than this outlet which I think came in third, I don't know which outlet came in second. The soup is just wonderful and my son always must order the bigger bowl to satisfy his taste buds. Nobody must miss it, it is just too good not to try it and you will leave with the bowl empty, the only thing remain behind is the pepper residue.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:5 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +1
    Comments on this review:
    1. Endoh Taiki
      Endoh Taiki said:
      I don't know why but half the recommendation on Chn U ... I feel there's no big deal
      26 Sep 2007 at 10:04 pm
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  3. Endoh Taiki
     11
       
     02 Sep 2007 at 5:31 pm

    If you haven't heard of the King of Pig Organ Soup, you have lose out a great deal.

    The name Cheng Mun Chee Kee Pig Organ Soup King - 正文志记猪杂汤大王 - fits this stall perfectly. Didn't our Taiwanese friends always say the good food are often hidden in the small lanes? True enough, that is very much the case for this stall.

    Cheng Mun Chee Kee (CMCK) is situated in a humble coffeeshop along Foch Road. If you have problems locating this coffeeshop despite the big signboard along the roadside, just remember it is directly opposite Lavendar Hawker Centre & Hotel 81 - Elegance.

    One of the most important aspects of Pig Organ Soup is the freshness of the organs. CMCK seems to score well in that, for all the times I ate there I smell nothing bad. I tried to spy on the cooking on how they manage to keep their innards and pork so tender, but I can't seem to spot anything. Perhaps, I am just not cut out to be a chef.

    The chilli that comes along also plays a big role. I have tried stalls which gave me normal sliced chilli with light soya sauce, chilli padi, pepper powder... but nothing comes close to theirs. Sliced chilli with DARK SOYA SAUCE! That's what I call the authentic chilli for Pig Organ Soup.

    Not enough soup? Craving for more? CMCK is more than happy to refill your soup FOC. Being a soup person, that is double thumbs up! If you want a refill, just bring your bowl to the side of the stall and your bowl will be topped up with soup in a jiffy. The uncle even told me with a smiley face, "not enough soup come back for more..." As I see it, he takes alot of pride not only in how the organs are cooked, and also the quality of the soup base. Can you imagine that feeling I get for each tablespoon of soup that goes down my throat? Only one expression is appropriate... ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh... SHIOK!

    Sure or not? Really that good? If a top chef in a 5-star hotel gives his full thumbs up for this humble little stall, what do you think?

    My verdict? Miss it, and you'll regret for the rest of your life!

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:5 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +1
    Comments on this review:
    1. Helmet
      Helmet said:
      I have tried this many years back. Will go and try it out again and see if the standard remains.
      22 Sep 2007 at 2:13 am
    2. Endoh Taiki
      Endoh Taiki said:
      Will be waiting to read your review. :)
      22 Sep 2007 at 3:26 am
    3. Helmet
      Helmet said:
      Tried liao. Still got standard.
      26 Sep 2007 at 1:39 pm
    4. 1 more comment »
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  


Write A Review

By checking this box, I agree with Yebber.com's Terms of Use.

Or use your Facebook account to create a new Yebber ID (no Registration form to fill)


(Minimum of 500 characters)

Rating

  (Click stars to rate)
1 Star - Please Avoid2 Stars - Below Average3 Stars - Average4 Stars - Good5 Stars - Excellent


July's Exchange Rate

1=SGD 0.0587

How Do I Earn Yebber$?
33 Yebbers Online!
Double Yebber Dollar Category for July:

Restaurants

Click here for future month