You are at Yebber
At Yebber, you can rate, review & find everything from restaurants & shopping to hotels & spas
Notice something wrong here? Edit Business Info
Read Reviews
5.0
from 1 to 5
3 Reviews
117&117A East Coast Road
Singapore
Postal code: Show postal code
Telephone: (65) 6348-0125
Category:
Restaurants » Steamboat
Photos of OK Shabu Shabu - RestaurantsPhotos of OK Shabu Shabu - RestaurantsPhotos of OK Shabu Shabu - RestaurantsPhotos of OK Shabu Shabu - RestaurantsPhotos of OK Shabu Shabu - Restaurants

    Overall Rating:
    » 3 Reviews for “OK Shabu Shabu ” - Restaurants


  1. StevenKKK
     1
       
     26 Jun 2008 at 7:56 am
       OK Shabu Shabu - Restaurants

    It is a good place to go. The boss and staff is very friendly. must try their sacha sauce, i think can get elsewhere, and i got preview the new menu which launch this coming July really got more than 120 items and with addition $1.90ea you get a crab (looks like sri lanka crab to me) or Scallop with shell on(10pcs base on wat boss tell mi

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:5 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. wanlong
      wanlong said:
      Hey steven since went you start bloging, see you at school, then we got shabu shabu again
      26 Jun 2008 at 8:42 am
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  2. wanlong
     1
       
     23 Jun 2008 at 4:20 pm
       OK Shabu Shabu - Restaurants   OK Shabu Shabu - Restaurants   OK Shabu Shabu - Restaurants   OK Shabu Shabu - Restaurants   OK Shabu Shabu - Restaurants

    I was there last week, they have more varieties of soup and sauces now. They are having a promotions now when i was there. Every diner get a soft shell crab for free (which is my favorite, i even pay 2 a la carte for take away the soft shell crab) and should try they new soup clear tom yum, spicy and sour enough, Heard from their Boss they are revamping their menu to 10 types of soups and 120 of varieties item for shabuing and having more than 6 type of sauce for :)) meal, the going to put in shave deer meat and fresh crab this coming July. Don't Miss

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:5 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +1
    Comments on this review:
    1. wanlong
      wanlong said:
      Lets meet this July At OK Shabu Shabu
      23 Jun 2008 at 4:22 pm
    2. claud
      claud said:
      wanlong treating ah? :P
      23 Jun 2008 at 10:56 pm
    3. Bobo
      Bobo said:
      I want to TRY! haha come come to the East side everyone!
      24 Jun 2008 at 10:31 pm
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  3. Guttercat
     21
       
     02 May 2008 at 3:21 am
       OK Shabu Shabu - Restaurants   OK Shabu Shabu - Restaurants   OK Shabu Shabu - Restaurants   OK Shabu Shabu - Restaurants   OK Shabu Shabu - Restaurants

    Wanted to lunch at Astons Specialties (Katong) today, when we noticed a new steamboat joint right next door.

    Seeing as to how it’s charging only $15.90 per adult for lunch ($17.90 for dinner, children @ $12.90 & $14.90 respectively), thought we might as well give the place a try.

    First impression is that it’s a pretty cosy, with most of the seats being booths, thus ensuring a measure of privacy.

    Everyone gets an individual sunken pot, which is great if you don’t enjoy having bits of vermicelli or tofu contaminating your soup (plus the hygiene factor for those mysophobes out there). The ***** are placed below table level just in front of you, which gives a great & easy degree of control over the heat.

    For the soup base, we selected Beef Bone Soup & Seafood Soup (Sichuan Ma La & Chicken being the two other options for buffet)... not that there was much of a difference between the two. On a positive note, they don’t use any MSG at all; anything that tastes that bland can’t possibly contain food additives.

    Their offerings are very fresh though, as evidenced by the photos, but sadly the insipid soup bases practically drain all cooked food of their taste, leaving much to be desired.

    Their Sliced Pork is beautifully cut, the meat nicely marbled. There’re some cartilage attached though, which may be a blessing or a curse, depending on your personal preference (I personally like it, but the missus doesn’t).

    The Squid Ball’s a treat, seeing as to how it actually does taste like squid. Not as awesome as the ones served @ Mini Steamboat Delight in Parkway Parade’s Food Court though.

    Under no circumstance should one order their Mutton or Homemade Mutton (the later being marinated), this piece of advice coming from a guy who loves eating mutton. The 腥味 of the meat is simply overpowering, & is apt to contaminate the soup as well. I was only able to stomach the former with the help of their sauce, which took the edge off the offensiveness somewhat.

    The latter was consigned to a far corner of the table after GC threw in the towel.

    Sauce-wise, it does go well with the food, the missus’ complaint being that there’s only one kind available, which makes everything taste the same.

    Frankly, the only thing I was fairly impressed with was their Man Tou, which was served with condensed milk. I only managed a bite, ‘cos my elder daughter practically snatched the last one from right under my nose. Can’t be compared to the ones at The Magic of ChongQing Hot Pot, but price-wise, it’s pretty decent stuff.

    Could’ve gotten a better rating, ‘cept for the bland soup base, super 腥 mutton, & lack of sauce variety.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Updated: 20th July 2008

    Seeing as to how the recent reviews have been so positive, I decided to give the joint another go.

    Man, was I delighted by the positive changes wrought over a 2 month period.

    Price is still as easy on the wallet, atmosphere is still as cosy, & their offerings are as fresh as ever.

    But the soup bases, ah, at least now they taste of what they're supposed to be. The missus commented that it was a tad bland, but as we all know, the soup can only get better as the meal progresses.

    Some of the options such as Black Chicken soup base have an extra surcharge attached, as well as the previously much abhorred mutton. Too traumatised even till now, GC decided to give the latter a pass.

    Not nearly 120 items on offer as yet, but I don't find the menu all that lacking as well.

    A friend commented that he felt somewhat at odds; on one hand, he really enjoyed the warm cosy atmosphere, but on the other, he wished that there were more patrons so that the business would be more viable.

    Ok Shabu Shabu has made it into my list as a top regular haunt.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:5 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +2
    Comments on this review:
    1. claud
      claud said:
      So its just OK only lah. But does look interesting thou. Thanks for sharing!
      02 May 2008 at 9:19 am
    2. ladyironchef
      ladyironchef said:
      east coast! so far away! lol
      02 May 2008 at 9:54 am
    3. Jeslyn Tee
      Jeslyn Tee said:
      The Mantou is served at Mushroom Pot too.
      02 May 2008 at 4:39 pm
    4. 1 more comment »
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  


Write A Review

By checking this box, I agree with Yebber.com's Terms of Use.

Or use your Facebook account to create a new Yebber ID (no Registration form to fill)


(Minimum of 500 characters)

Rating

  (Click stars to rate)
1 Star - Please Avoid2 Stars - Below Average3 Stars - Average4 Stars - Good5 Stars - Excellent


March's Exchange Rate

1=SGD 0.0587

How Do I Earn Yebber$?
14 Yebbers Online!
Double Yebber Dollar Category for March:

Hotels & Travel

Click here for future month