You are at Yebber
At Yebber, you can rate, review & find everything from restaurants & shopping to hotels & spas
Notice something wrong here? Edit Business Info
Read Reviews
3.0
from 1 to 5
2 Reviews
1 Jelebu Road
01-60/61 Bukit Panjang Plaza
Singapore
Postal code: Show postal code
Telephone: (65) 6764-9971
Category:
Restaurants » Chinese (Traditional), Deli & Cafe
Photos of Pick & Bite (Bukit Panjang Plaza) - RestaurantsPhotos of Pick & Bite (Bukit Panjang Plaza) - RestaurantsPhotos of Pick & Bite (Bukit Panjang Plaza) - Restaurants

    Overall Rating:
    » 2 Reviews for “Pick & Bite (Bukit Panjang Plaza) ” - Restaurants


  1. PuNiaoPuNiao
     26
       
     07 Mar 2008 at 11:30 pm
       Pick & Bite (Bukit Panjang Plaza) - Restaurants   Pick & Bite (Bukit Panjang Plaza) - Restaurants   Pick & Bite (Bukit Panjang Plaza) - Restaurants

    my family and i started going there for our nightly coffee fix like almost a year ago and we were not disappointed. previously, we always go to the kopitiam at level 3, but it was disappointing in a sense that those kopi ladies kept adding water despite my parents pleas not to as my parents and i don't like our kopi diluted with water, we like it strong and thick (also like the oriental version of espresso..). and the worst part? those kopi ladies insisted that they have to add water to dilute the kopi as it is too strong, and ironically, their kopi cup is so small that the kopi does not taste anything like kopi after water was added to it. luckily, we chanced upon pick & bite one particular night and decided to try their kopi. as usual, we asked for kopi-o/kopi-gao/kopi dee loh (kopi undiluted with water) and we were served by the lady who is in charge of running the shop. she gave us what we requested and from that night on, we were converts and patronise pick & bite whenever we pop down to BPJ for our kopi fix. (fret not, if you do not like your kopi too strong, as you can request for weaker kopi if you prefer). the lady who is in charge of running the shop actually recommend dim sum to us everytime we go, which are the tastier ones, which ones are not that good, really frank opinion shared to customers.

    lately, a few months back, pick & bite customers should be aware of price hikes and their fried version of dim sum (like popiah, yam cake, etc) were sold @ 5 pcs for $3. realising that not much customers might want to buy so much or couldn't finish eating so many, they actually decided to sell it @ 3 pcs for $2, alongside the 5 pcs for $3 strategy, no doubt, by pick & bite boss. i dun know whether other pick & bite outlets are selling 3 pcs for $2 for customers who can't finish their dim sum, but the outlet at BPJ does. all in all, this is still where my family get our nightly kopi fix and i urge dim sum lovers not to miss this pick & bite outlet if good kopi is what you and your friends and family are looking for.

    dessert wise, if it's too sweet or thick (undiluted), you can ask the aunties to add in some hot water to make it less thick if you prefer. to them, customer requests are not an issue to be ignored. whatever is possible and can be done for their customers, they will definitely try their best to do it. besides, which outlet actually gives you extra popiah when you are paying only $2 for 3pcs? just one plea: don't say protest vehemently when extra dim sum is given to you at no extra charge even though you only bought 3 pcs hor~ ~ there are nice aunties down there and we shouldn't "sabo" their kindness.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:5 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +3
    Comments on this review:
    1. Bobo
      Bobo said:
      interesting Aunties.
      08 Mar 2008 at 6:41 am
    2. PuNiaoPuNiao
      PuNiaoPuNiao said:
      yah lor~ ~ sometimes i buy 3 but get 4 or 5 free leh~ ~
      08 Mar 2008 at 5:22 pm
    3. Polarbear
      Polarbear said:
      Hmm... one give 1 star and one give 5 stars. Shall wait for the 3 review then. Wahahaha
      09 Mar 2008 at 12:31 am
    4. 1 more comment »
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  2. Great Sage
     94
         
     15 Sep 2007 at 11:35 pm

    do not really understand why there is a change in my appetite recently. Used to like seafood, but now i don't dare to touch them? Mysterious? hahahah... Today, i have this sudden craving for dim sum, think of siew man, char siew bao will start to make me drool. So when i chanced upon this dim sum outlet, i was pretty happy.

    This pick & bite cafe is no ordinary dim sum store. Besides selling those dim sum in the straw basket, you can find congee, rice dumplings, desserts, baos and more. A rather wide range of food to be found here right?

    Baos and dim sum are probably easier to pack and eat on the go as compared to noodles and mixed rice. Thus, during lunch time, you get to see many people patronizing their outlet to pack some snacks. (A rather long queue can be seen)

    Fear not that you will have to stand and eat their food as they have set up few tables and chairs to cater for those customers who wants to enjoy their food in the outlet itself. There have also set up some additional chairs outside of their store. (most probably for the smokers to smoke and eat at the same time?)

    Tried their lotus leaf rice, one of their most popular item in the cafe (at least 50% of its customer will be seen eating this dish). However, i was not very impressed with this dish, as the rice (japanese rice) was rather dry and hard. Perhaps, the rice was overcooked? The ingredients in the rice was rather little too. (only a few piece of char siew and small cubes of mushrooms is seen) Patheic?

    Tasted their dessert -- orh nee (yam paste), but it seems too diluted too taste. (makes me think of orh nee in a drink form?) Whats more? This is my very first time to eat orh nee without ginko nuts. (the version that i ate is totally different from the picture shown) Did they forgot to put it in or picture is deceiving? I really wonder.

    Tried their baskets of dim sum as well, their har gia (shrimps wrapped in wanton skin) is not that great too. Rather dry, and small size. Not really worth the amount paid too.

    Well, guess my experience with them is not really that marvellous after all. I would really have to ponder hard hard if i would like to step in and try their food again. :P

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:1 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. PuNiaoPuNiao
      PuNiaoPuNiao said:
      are you sure it was orh nee you tasted? Diluted? Cannot be lar... their orh nee now very concentrated and oh so sweet that customers are complaining that it's too thick and sweet wor...
      07 Mar 2008 at 11:16 pm
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  


Write A Review

By checking this box, I agree with Yebber.com's Terms of Use.

Or use your Facebook account to create a new Yebber ID (no Registration form to fill)


(Minimum of 500 characters)

Rating

  (Click stars to rate)
1 Star - Please Avoid2 Stars - Below Average3 Stars - Average4 Stars - Good5 Stars - Excellent


September's Exchange Rate

1=SGD 0.0587

How Do I Earn Yebber$?
23 Yebbers Online!
Double Yebber Dollar Category for September:

Pets

Click here for future month