You are at Yebber
At Yebber, you can rate, review & find everything from restaurants & shopping to hotels & spas
Notice something wrong here? Edit Business Info
Read Reviews
4.0
from 1 to 5
3 Reviews
Pasir Ris Drive 4 Blk 440 #01-13
Singapore
Postal code: Show postal code
Telephone: (65) 6582-0397
Category:
Eating Places » Hawker Centres
Photos of Seafood Crab King (Hai Xian Pang Xie Wang) - Eating PlacesPhotos of Seafood Crab King (Hai Xian Pang Xie Wang) - Eating PlacesPhotos of Seafood Crab King (Hai Xian Pang Xie Wang) - Eating PlacesPhotos of Seafood Crab King (Hai Xian Pang Xie Wang) - Eating PlacesPhotos of Seafood Crab King (Hai Xian Pang Xie Wang) - Eating Places

Old family business selling quality chinese cooked food.

    Overall Rating:
    » 3 Reviews for “Seafood Crab King (Hai Xian Pang Xie Wang) ” - Eating Places


  1. claud
     140
         
     10 Jul 2008 at 11:39 pm

    This Chi Zhar stall is very ulu lah! Hidden right at the corner of the estate, it's not easy to spot! There are many other coffee shops and eateries around that area, and every one of them were packed to the rim this evening. Hoping I got to the right place, finally I found this tiny stall hidden at the back of this quiet coffee shop.

    It was Mum's birthday and we decided to give this place a try. Am glad that Mum enjoyed it, but I got "bitten" by the crab! My upper right lips hurts. Ok, nuff of whining, so what's good about this place?

    We ordered "3 Glass Chicken", Claypot Seafood Tofu, Stout Pork Ribs, "Hei Zhou" (prawn roll like dish) and the highly recommended Jin Sha Xie (Golden Sand Crab) and fried Man Tou. Total bill came up to $108. All the dishes were the biggest portion one. (But it wasn't THAT big after all.)

    The "3 Glass Chicken" was too dry and the meat was too tough. But the outside of the chicken was rather tasty.

    Claypot Seafood Tofu was not bad. There were tofu, cuttlefish, sliced fish, vegetables and carrots. The sauce was not too thick nor diluted. Just nice to go with plain rice.

    I didn't eat the pork ribs so I don't know how it tastes.

    "Hei Zhou" was pretty good. Fried to the right texture and its crispy and flavorful.

    Star of the night was the Golden Sand Crab. Dad picked up one bigger and one medium size crabs. The crab was not the freshiest, as there wasn't any sweetness to the meat. But there was plenty of meat in the crabs. The best part was the sauce! As described by Reiko and Lucardia, the sauce is very well prepared. It was creamy, milky and spicy! Great with man tou and I couldn't stop dipping my crab meat in the sauce before every mouthful. The entire plate was cleared (almost spotless) at the end of dinner! Will go back just for the crab when I'm around the area.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:4 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +1
    Comments on this review:
    1. feizhu
      feizhu said:
      Oh no.. another $35/kg crab :P
      11 Jul 2008 at 8:58 am
    2. Lucardia
      Lucardia said:
      I'll say it again: I told you so.
      11 Jul 2008 at 9:14 am
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  2. ReiKo
     31
       
     29 Jun 2008 at 10:35 pm
       Seafood Crab King (Hai Xian Pang Xie Wang) - Eating Places   Seafood Crab King (Hai Xian Pang Xie Wang) - Eating Places

    My BF and I were craving for crabs so we decided to go and have crab for dinner. I have been to this zhi cha stall alot of time since I was young as the place is actually near my house.

    We wanted a smiple crab meal so we order a crab dish, 10 pcs of man tou(fried bun) and a bowl of rice.

    Shimmering Sand Crab ($29.70) (Crab - $35 per Kg) The first time I try this dish I began to like it, I did try other places crabs but I still prefer this dish. The crab were actually not to bad. The sauce is actually thick, creamy, cheesy. If I'm not wrong there is butter, cheese, mayonnaise, chili padi, curry leaves. On top of the crab is actually some fried coconut pulps.

    10pcs of Fried Man Tou(Bun) ($2.50) The bun were serve hot. It crispy and nice. The sauce really go well with fried man tou.

    The service were good as the lady will always have a cheerful smile to welcome you. Do try some of their recommend dishes. It really not bad.

    Total bill; $32.90 (Including rice, towels)

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:4 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. Bobo
      Bobo said:
      wah I really want to eat mantou...
      29 Jun 2008 at 10:47 pm
    2. feizhu
      feizhu said:
      $35/kg for crab at a KPT is expensive :S
      29 Jun 2008 at 11:00 pm
    3. claud
      claud said:
      Look sooooo good!!!!
      29 Jun 2008 at 11:27 pm
    4. 4 more comments »
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  3. Lucardia
     234
          
     15 Nov 2007 at 10:17 am
       Seafood Crab King (Hai Xian Pang Xie Wang) - Eating Places   Seafood Crab King (Hai Xian Pang Xie Wang) - Eating Places   Seafood Crab King (Hai Xian Pang Xie Wang) - Eating Places   Seafood Crab King (Hai Xian Pang Xie Wang) - Eating Places

    I was celebrating a recent recuperation of funds when i decided to bring my gf for a simple dinner at Pasir Ris. I used to live at the place and this Chinese Zhi Ca stall has been there since i was a young boy. Thats at least 14 years of history and they are still going strong. I remember having many meals there with my family when i was younger and so, to relive that feeling a little, we visited it for an ad hoc dinner.

    A point of interest is that right behind the eating place is a carpark you can drive into and the contact is for you to order first, then drive down later to collect your order for take aways. No more standing in queue and they even bring the orders right down to your car for you. Talk about great service!

    Zao Pai Dou Fu (Signature Dish Beancurd) $8 - Like i said, a simple dinner. This is their signature dish beancurd which is really good. The beancurd has egg mixed into it giving it a smooth and springy texture which literally melts in your mouth. The sauce is quite salty and is scattered with fried minced pork, shrimps and mushrooms which really add to the taste of the dish overall. This goes well with rice and best taken together with a large group of people.

    Jin Sha Xie (Golden Sand Crab) $32 per Kg - I came back for this dish as i was accidentally introduced to it during Andrew's birthday recently and neglected to bring my camera along for the trip. The sauce is where the taste really is and we tasted cheese, chilli, butter and mayonnaise used in the mixture. The crab was obviously fresh and went really well with the sauce. Oats were sprinkled atop for added fragrance and taste. I quote what Andrew said when we had this dish previously: "This is fit for a restaurant." My gf also said it was a good dish but this isn't the first time she's had it. The sauce goes well with rice and of course, deep fried buns which are also available. As usual, bring lots of friends and order this in bulk, i'm sure it'll be a great get together dish.

    Bill: The total bill for dinner came up to simply $36. Quite reasonable for a crab meal.

    I can see myself coming back to this place many times since its easily accessible (to me at least) and has good food at reasonable prices. The lady and general service here is almost always good and makes paying for their food that much easier. Do try this.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:4 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +1
      Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
      


    Write A Review

    By checking this box, I agree with Yebber.com's Terms of Use.

    Or use your Facebook account to create a new Yebber ID (no Registration form to fill)


    (Minimum of 500 characters)

    Rating

      (Click stars to rate)
    1 Star - Please Avoid2 Stars - Below Average3 Stars - Average4 Stars - Good5 Stars - Excellent


    July's Exchange Rate

    1=SGD 0.0587

    How Do I Earn Yebber$?
    14 Yebbers Online!
    Double Yebber Dollar Category for July:

    Restaurants

    Click here for future month