You are at Yebber
At Yebber, you can rate, review & find everything from restaurants & shopping to hotels & spas
Notice something wrong here? Edit Business Info
Read Reviews
3.9
from 1 to 5
8 Reviews
70 Prinsep Street
Singapore
Postal code: Show postal code
Telephone: (65) 6333-4358
Website:
Category:
Restaurants » European
Photos of Absolute Haven - RestaurantsPhotos of Absolute Haven - RestaurantsPhotos of Absolute Haven - RestaurantsPhotos of Absolute Haven - RestaurantsPhotos of Absolute Haven - Restaurants

Located in the historic and trendy Prinsep Street , Absolute Haven is the ideal restaurant to unwind and chill out.

Every creation on the food menu is set to excite the palate. The fine selection has been thoughtfully planned so that there is something for everyone. If you're a wine lover, you can look forward to a perfect wine from our wine list to compliment your meal.

    Overall Rating:
    » 8 Reviews for “Absolute Haven ” - Restaurants


  1. Bobo
     154
          
     09 Jan 2008 at 10:57 pm
       Absolute Haven - Restaurants   Absolute Haven - Restaurants   Absolute Haven - Restaurants   Absolute Haven - Restaurants   Absolute Haven - Restaurants

    I've always been one to try out new places... and this one is no exception!! Its cosy ambience and good location (in Prinsep Place amongst all the funky eateries) is certainly a draw. I'm also a sucker for simple modern yet cosy decor and this place certainly fit the bill.

    Some of the dishes I tried: Spinach and Wild Mushroom Salad $7.50 This one came as a surprise. I had the idea of a bowl of tossed salad with mushrooms mixed up inside but this one was served on a plate all the ingredients carefully separated from each other. The mushrooms were nicely buttered and being a mushroom-lover I'd loved this!

    Seafood Sampler $18.00 This one was quite disappointing. There was Calamari, fish, fries and prawns. But the batter used was too thick and I didn't really fancy it after two pieces from the plate. But the serving was large and can easily be a starter for 4-5 people.

    Oriental Cod Fish $24.00 I loved this one. The codfish was served with bacon but the tastes were quite separate. I liked the taste of the fish, which was light and just right. The texture could improve though but no real complaints about this dish.

    Chicken Roulade $20.00 I liked the herb taste in the chicken meat itself. The chicken was wrapped around some spinach and bacon. But I enjoyed eating the chicken itself more than the entire combination.

    The service provided was really good. Our glasses were never empty and they were polite and tried to accede to our requests. Also they were always available but not breathing down our necks, which I think makes it really comfortable to just chill there without having to feel like you're taking up a seat in the place.

    I'll definitely be back to try other things!

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:4 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. feizhu
      feizhu said:
      The pic of the cod is nice!
      10 Jan 2008 at 12:01 am
    2. Bobo
      Bobo said:
      heh heh thank you. I prefer the picture of the steak le :P
      10 Jan 2008 at 5:55 am
    3. ladyironchef
      ladyironchef said:
      All pictures are nicely taken : )
      10 Jan 2008 at 8:43 pm
    4. 2 more comments »
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  2. claud
     140
         
     09 Jan 2008 at 11:43 am
       Absolute Haven - Restaurants   Absolute Haven - Restaurants   Absolute Haven - Restaurants   Absolute Haven - Restaurants   Absolute Haven - Restaurants

    Romantic dinner for two that wouldn't hurt your wallet.

    Couple months back, I passed by this place and was attracted by the dark blue and mustard colored signboard. Love the color and the place looks simple and nice. But as I already had my dinner, I didn't step in to try Absolute Haven out.

    And recently, I found myself back and this time, touched by the warm service we received from the people at Absolute Haven. As there was another establishment above the restaurant, the waiter who saw me walking towards the building, wasn't sure whether I'm there for the food or going upstairs. So he waited, and when I walked closer towards the place, he greeted me with smile and opened the door for me. I was then lead to a table which I'd requested and served the menu. One thing that I would like to comment is that instead of walking away, the service staff will asked if I would like a glass of water. At some other places, they don't even serve water. Good thing they still do at Absolute Haven.

    I requested for warm water and soon it was served. They'd added fresh strawberries in their water. (warm and chilled) That's a pleasant surprise. Places who do serve water, usually add lemon to it, but here they used strawberries! (and we all know strawberries are more expensive) The service staff will continue to top up your glass ensuring that there's always water for everyone in their glasses. This is something worth commenting too. Cos you'll never once have to wave your hands to request for refill.

    List of items ordered include... Starters Spinach and Wild Mushroom Salad $7.50 Mushroom Soup $5.80 Seafood Sampler $18.00 Mains Oriental Cod Fish $24.00 Chicken Roulade $20.00 Tenderloin Steak $28 Desserts Victorian Creme Brulee $8.00 Tira Mi Su $9.00

    The first that was served was the Spinach and Wild Mushroom Salad, it didn't turn out as we'd expected. There were 3 types of mushrooms and a handful of Spinach on the plate. The presentation of the salad could have been better. At first sight, it really didn't attract me to want to try it. But the fragrant was a strong magnet. I almost drooled even before I tasted it. I quite like the taste of the balsamic vinaigrette dressing on the mushrooms and spinach. Overall I'll give this dish a 3.5 out of 5.

    As a big fan of mushroom, I just had to order the very mushroom Mushroom Soup (as stated in the menu). It's not the usual creamy mushroom soup. This is a puree version of the soup. Its a mixture of portobello mushrooms, shitake mushrooms & button mushrooms. I'd tasted similar mushroom soup before, this wasn't as mushroom mushroom enough. Instead, it kinda taste like mutton soup, perhaps due to the layer of oil and the blend of the other ingredients. Didn't really enjoy it as much as I'd hope. This I'll give it a 2.5 out of 5.

    Next up the Seafood Platter. Looks good but taste could have been better. The platter consists of crispy squid rings, cod-fish nuggets, breaded prawns and their Chef's special dips. I'll leave this review for the others. Personally, I enjoyed the dips more than the seafood. And one thing for all to note, please do not attempt to finish this on your own. The serving is big enough to feed more than 4. So this platter is good for sharing. (But keep the dips to yourself! :D) 2 out of 5 for this. ( 1.5 more for the dips)

    Out of the 3 mains, I only tried the Tenderloin Steak, as the other 2 contains bacon which I don't take. I did try the avocado salad on the side of Chicken Roulade. I like the way they mixed the avocado, corn, tomato and onion. It's a refreshing salad which compliments the chicken well.

    Tenderloin Steak was not bad. The steak was cooked just right and was a little char at the outside. Presentation looks great, and the side was thinly layered and a blend of potatos, carrot and cheese. The sauce was a tad too saltish, but personally it works quite well for me. Just nice when blended with the stead and the sides. This I'll award it with a 3.5 out of 5.

    And finally, the desserts! Between the 2 ordered, I preferred the Victorian Creme Brulee more. Although some said it tasted of too much egg, but I like it. The Tira Mi Su was not bad but could have been. 3.5 for Creme Brulee and 3 for Tira Mi Su.

    Will go back again, to try their other dishes (Salads, the dips and pasta). And to enjoy their great service and drink their strawberry ice water! :D

    Giving 1.5 star more for the great service. They really deserve it! Thanks for the wonderful experience.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:4 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +1
    Comments on this review:
    1. claud
      claud said:
      !! Didn't realised I wrote so much! Heee...
      09 Jan 2008 at 11:44 am
    2. Polarbear
      Polarbear said:
      Hmm... worth to give it a try. Hee.....
      09 Jan 2008 at 1:11 pm
    3. TrumPat
      TrumPat said:
      I'm also a big lover of mushrooms! So can understand what you mean when you said the soup is not mushroom enough. Haha...
      09 Jan 2008 at 1:25 pm
    4. 4 more comments »
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!


Write A Review

By checking this box, I agree with Yebber.com's Terms of Use.

Or use your Facebook account to create a new Yebber ID (no Registration form to fill)


(Minimum of 500 characters)

Rating

  (Click stars to rate)
1 Star - Please Avoid2 Stars - Below Average3 Stars - Average4 Stars - Good5 Stars - Excellent


May's Exchange Rate

1=SGD 0.0587

How Do I Earn Yebber$?
9 Yebbers Online!
Double Yebber Dollar Category for May:

Services

Click here for future month