You are at Yebber
At Yebber, you can rate, review & find everything from restaurants & shopping to hotels & spas
Notice something wrong here? Edit Business Info
Read Reviews
4.0
from 1 to 5
2 Reviews
134 Amoy Street #01-01
Singapore
Postal code: Show postal code
Telephone: (65) 6438-0328
Category:
Restaurants » Japanese

    Overall Rating:
    » 2 Reviews for “Beppu Menkan Japanese Noodle Restaurant (Far East Square) ” - Restaurants


  1. smudger
     47
       
     08 Aug 2008 at 4:18 pm

    I came to know about this shop via a food hunt show on TV a few years back. It was the first of its kind back then, not sure about now though.

    Ever since, they have opened its outlets at Suntec and Tiong Bahru too. But the original outlet still remains its catch, which is the spiciness of its ramen.

    For avid lovers of chilli and spicy food, this place is one to explore. While the other 2 outlets offers the same menu, this outlet explores the impossibility (or possibility, whichever way you prefer it) in this territory.

    You first choose your choice of noodle, and then you choose the level of spiciness for the noodle. It's as simple as that. You could choose up to 8 levels of spiciness, if you are daring enough or simply just choose level 1-3 if you are alright with spices. The maximum I went was 3, not really what I expected considering I do hold chilli well. Oh almost forgot, the noodles taste really great but the main thing I will still highlight is the spice level. Really innovative and interesting concept to start off with.

    Service level is not compromised, was served in a matter of time. Prompt service, I must say. Environment wise, it is pretty serene and tranquil during the night, and unlike the counterparts around them they actually open on weekends as well. Great place for chilling and catching up, you won't have to worry that the place is too noisy to catch up with an old pal.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:4 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +3
    Comments on this review:
    1. $money$
      $money$ said:
      fyi, this outlet moved across the road to China Sq Central
      09 Aug 2008 at 3:16 pm
    2. Luc85
      Luc85 said:
      You meant here: http://www.yebber.com/review/beppu-dining-restaurant-china-square-central/
      09 Aug 2008 at 8:01 pm
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  2. Polarbear
     103
          
     27 Dec 2007 at 4:58 pm

    This place is jz outside the gym which I am going so it makes a great place for dinner after that. No need to walk that much also Haa...

    Since we are there almost near to their closing time, it is peaceful and quiet. A nice relaxing place to have dinner and chit chat at the same time. Seems like others who jz knocked off or jz looking for a quiet place to have dinner also go there.

    There are indoor and outdoor seats (under shelter), as it is near to closing time, they had closed the indoor seats, so we only got outdoor seats. Their seats are like those little jap seats with a cushion on it. The seats are a bit low, feels like a little kid seating in those little chairs. Haa....

    Since it was after office hours, so there was not much of a crowd. we ordered:

    1. Teriyaki Chicken Ramen: The soup is nice and creamy, with the addition of corn and seaweed does make the whole soup taste even better. The noodles are very chewy and tasty as it managed to absorb the soup. Good.

    The teriyaki chicken is serves hot on a seperate plate. It is crispy hot, yet tender and juicy inside. The sauce is sweet and fragant and makes the chicken more tasty than ever. I thought it is supposed to be fried but seems like theirs came in the formed of fried chicken cutlet.

    2. Takoyaki: This one also came pipping hot but the disappointment is did not taste the octopus as the mince it instead of leaving a chunk in the middle of the ball. It came with lots of mayo and the fish skin flakes which I like it!

    3. Mayo Prawn: Came off the fryer and crispy with mayo and black seasme seeds. The prawn seem a little flat or no meat but it is very juicy inside and crispy on the outer as well.

    The good thing thing is all dishes came to us very hot and fresh as well.

    The cost of the dinner is only $27 including drinks (one orange juice and one ice green tea with lemon) and the service is good and fast as they dun have much customers anyway.

    Surprisingly, that they actually shared the place with a thai resturant next door as well. So they served both jap and thai food. They will give you 2 sets of menus. Good way to make customer confused to order more food. Haa.... Think will try their thai food soon. Haa.....

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:4 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +7
    Comments on this review:
    1. Rachelle
      Rachelle said:
      Beppu Menkan at Far East Square has moved just across a street to China Square Central.
      18 Mar 2008 at 6:00 pm
    2. Polarbear
      Polarbear said:
      Hee.. Is that so? I had not been there for some time. Thks for the info.
      18 Mar 2008 at 11:38 pm
    3. Rachelle
      Rachelle said:
      The Gym U mentioned (another Heavyweight) is also moving out to China Square Central Basement in May 2008.
      22 Apr 2008 at 10:50 am
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  


Write A Review

By checking this box, I agree with Yebber.com's Terms of Use.

Or use your Facebook account to create a new Yebber ID (no Registration form to fill)


(Minimum of 500 characters)

Rating

  (Click stars to rate)
1 Star - Please Avoid2 Stars - Below Average3 Stars - Average4 Stars - Good5 Stars - Excellent


September's Exchange Rate

1=SGD 0.0587

How Do I Earn Yebber$?
10 Yebbers Online!
Double Yebber Dollar Category for September:

Pets

Click here for future month