You are at Yebber
At Yebber, you can rate, review & find everything from restaurants & shopping to hotels & spas
Notice something wrong here? Edit Business Info
Read Reviews
3.7
from 1 to 5
6 Reviews
271 Bukit Timah Road
#B1-04
Singapore
Postal code: Show postal code
Telephone: (65) 6235-2160
Website:
Category:
Restaurants » Italian, Deli & Cafe
Sports and Recreation » Board Games
Photos of De Coders Cafe (Newton) - RestaurantsPhotos of De Coders Cafe (Newton) - RestaurantsPhotos of De Coders Cafe (Newton) - RestaurantsPhotos of De Coders Cafe (Newton) - RestaurantsPhotos of De Coders Cafe (Newton) - Restaurants

De Coder's Café is the latest board games café in town. It is centrally-located along Bukit Timah Road within the reach of Newton MRT station. We offer a wide selection of board games and a list of delicacies for you to choose from. You only pay for the food and beverages, there is no charges for game play.

    Overall Rating:
    » 6 Reviews for “De Coders Cafe (Newton) ” - Restaurants


  1. claud
     140
         
     19 Feb 2008 at 1:05 am
       De Coders Cafe (Newton) - Restaurants   De Coders Cafe (Newton) - Restaurants   De Coders Cafe (Newton) - Restaurants

    Went to decoder cafe over the weekend for Pingsters gathering. Initially I was reluctant to go on my own as I have no idea where Balmoral Plaza was. There wasn't any direct way of getting there from my house. But still, not wanting to miss the fun with fellow bloggers, I spent 30mins searching online on ways to getting there. Finally found the fastest way... Take bus to Sengkang station... take NEL to Little India.. take 170, 48, or 960 from bus stop at Exit B (or was it A?)... alight at the 5th stop infront of Balmoral Plaza. It's not that difficult to get there after all!

    I was greeted by the hugeee collection of games at the entrance of the cafe. Behind it were two computers set up for customers to use for free. (Can do live blogging from there! hee...) The place is small and cosy. There's 3 sets of bigger tables and chairs and 2/3 tables for groups of 2-4. Tables and chairs were of nice height and comfortable enough for long hours of play.

    The menu was thematically designed to fit into the gaming environment. They cleverly made it in a way that they can expand or change the menu whenever they have to. And in my opinion, they probably have to soon...

    Feeling famished, I ordered my favorite mushroom and cream pasta, and topped it up with $3.50 for the soup and a drink. When the soup was served, I knew what I was going to expect for my pasta. The soup was a tad too diluted. When I saw my pasta, the cream that came with it was diluted too. Too plain for me. The only thing I enjoyed was the canned green tea from Heaven and Earth.

    However, food aside, I still love this place! For its friendly, attentive and helpful staff. They are very patient when teaching you the games and demonstrating how its played.

    The next time I go, I'll probably stick to their finger food and cakes. Wedges and chicken bites look good. (More stars next time if they improve on their menu.)

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:3 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. Bobo
      Bobo said:
      haha since the focus was the games and such then finger food will suffice ba... Yebber gathering? :P
      19 Feb 2008 at 6:04 am
    2. ladyironchef
      ladyironchef said:
      yea, its more on the games than the food? a lot of such concept cafe have spring up. yebber gathering!!
      19 Feb 2008 at 8:20 am
    3. Polarbear
      Polarbear said:
      I agree. All games cafe more or less the same one. Hee....
      19 Feb 2008 at 8:41 am
    4. 2 more comments »
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  2. yxy
     2
       
     25 Jan 2008 at 8:57 am

    I went there once. As Rachel had said, the cafe uses minimum charging concept which means all the money you spent goes to food and beverages. I think it's a good idea; it's cheaper and we get the flexibility to choose the food and beverages we like.

    Something I want to share is the management of the cafe allows the staff to play board games with us and interact with us. I think that's another good point, we were short of players to play citadels and the staff are able to join us for the game so that we can enjoy our games.

    Games are definitely new, staff are friendly and the environment is cosy.

    Location is a bit way off if you don't drive. You have to take MRT to Newton and either take any bus for 1 bus-stop or walk 5-8mins. However, it's worth the effort for the fun and food that you get at that price.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:5 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. ladyironchef
      ladyironchef said:
      the staff even play the games with you? cool!
      19 Feb 2008 at 8:21 am
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  3. RachelTan
     3
       
     24 Jan 2008 at 3:07 pm
       De Coders Cafe (Newton) - Restaurants   De Coders Cafe (Newton) - Restaurants   De Coders Cafe (Newton) - Restaurants

    I notice that no one wrote an review of De Coder's Cafe. So I thought i will start the ball rolling. I have been to this place twice so far. This cafe just started recently, thus the board games are new.

    The interesting thing about this board games cafe is that they do not charge standard packages. They use something they called minimum spending. Which means that you have to spend like $5 an hour to order any food or beverages you want. The games and Internet comes free with it. I like this concept as I can order any food I want.

    There is not much crowd at the moment as compared to other board games cafe since they are new. That's something I like about it. It's much more quieter than other cafes. I cant stand the noise level at other cafes. Buay tahan at times. The games are new, staff are friendly, food is nice and games play are free. What else can you ask for? I only tried the cakes, appetizers so far, those are good. Go try their cheesecakes, very nice!

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:5 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. claud
      claud said:
      Looks like great place for boardgamers! So many choices! But its abit far leh... haiz... :(
      24 Jan 2008 at 3:23 pm
    2. Polarbear
      Polarbear said:
      Another place for boardgames. How come the title got newton then the address at bukit timah?
      24 Jan 2008 at 4:42 pm
    3. RachelTan
      RachelTan said:
      The cafe is along Bukit Timah Road and it's one bus stop away from Newton MRT. So if you take MRT, Newton is the nearest.
      24 Jan 2008 at 7:59 pm
    4. 2 more comments »
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!


Write A Review

By checking this box, I agree with Yebber.com's Terms of Use.

Or use your Facebook account to create a new Yebber ID (no Registration form to fill)


(Minimum of 500 characters)

Rating

  (Click stars to rate)
1 Star - Please Avoid2 Stars - Below Average3 Stars - Average4 Stars - Good5 Stars - Excellent


September's Exchange Rate

1=SGD 0.0587

How Do I Earn Yebber$?
31 Yebbers Online!
Double Yebber Dollar Category for September:

Pets

Click here for future month