You are at Yebber
At Yebber, you can rate, review & find everything from restaurants & shopping to hotels & spas
Notice something wrong here? Edit Business Info
Read Reviews
3.3
from 1 to 5
4 Reviews
Suntec City Convention Hall
Telephone: (65) 6747-4620
Website:
Category:
Shopping » Computers, Electronics , Mobile Phones
Services » IT & Computers
Photos of IT Show - ShoppingPhotos of IT Show - ShoppingPhotos of IT Show - Shopping

6th - 9th March 2008 Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre (Suntec City) Levels 1, 3, 4 & 6

Opening Hours : 12 noon to 9pm Free Admission

    Overall Rating:
    » 4 Reviews for “IT Show ” - Shopping


  1. yanling1989
     14
       
     11 Jul 2008 at 10:43 pm
       IT Show - Shopping   IT Show - Shopping   IT Show - Shopping

    The IT show offers very good bargains for electronic items. Due to this, you will see kiasu Singaporeans flocking there to check up on the discounted goods and purchase tem before they run out. So it will be very crowded. A suggestion is to know what you want to buy first, go there during non-peak hours(earlier times) and buy it as soon as possible in order to avert he crowds. I went there this year. Some of the staffs were quite rude, maybe due to the confusion occured in the crowds.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:4 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. claud
      claud said:
      Hi. I think the first pic u took looks too familiar. Would appreciate if you upload photos u took and not take from other's blog.
      12 Jul 2008 at 12:49 am
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  2. Lucardia
     234
          
     17 Mar 2008 at 6:12 pm

    It Shows happen once every 3 months nowadays and somehow, its no longer a surprise to anybody when a new IT gadget is announced. In fact, nothing much surprises anymore. Its just more of the same i guess.

    Anyhow, if you got the money, this is the place to get your honey (if you are an IT enthusiast of course). As per Polarbear and Claudia's review. Yes, do not go with the intention of looking or else, you'll just be wasting time getting stuck in the human jam.

    I do mean human jam you realise. The number of people gracing the event with their presence is insane. That is to say, its alot alot alot alot of people. Drive a car and prepare to park at bugis or further. Take an MRT and prepare to face the long queue the moment you get off. Its that insane.

    For my part, i went on the first night and on the noon of the last day. The first night was alright, the crowd was still manageable but that already means jamming for 30 mins to see something of interest for 5 minutes. On the last day, i went slightly early at 12pm to 1pm and it was awful.

    I bought a Kohjinsha SH811 tablet pc for a friend in Australia, the item cost me $1355 with an upgrade to a 2gb ram. Its quite amazing really. The 935gram machine has everything an ordinary pc has and then has touch screen functions as well. Nifty little gadget for people on the go. However, it uses windows vista which really isn't my idea of good.

    Anyway, the road to buying the darn thing was horrible and the service was all the way to the dogs. Sim Lim PA mart sold it and i can tell you, the incharge of the event didn't leave a good impression on me at all. He promptly did not fix up the items for me, did not give me a bag, did not give me my payment slip which made me queue 45 mins for a redemption from UOB counter and worse of all, his attitude is obvious that he can't be bothered. When i asked for advice on what to do for future help and asked for his namecard, he promptly refused and turned away. Talk about bad service.

    The UOB counter is another huge problem. Lines were so long, its unbelieveable. Take into account the bad service and horrible prizes. (i didn't win the psp nor any gadget, all i got was a letter opener from Beijing). The crowd management really needed to improve.

    The worst thing is how the elevators, entrances and the lower levels served as bottlenecks. Its practically packed with people to the brim. I was so worried the elevators would collapse and honestly, given the security guards there, if a terrorist wanted to take out a whole bunch of people, coming to an IT fair would have easily accomplished that and with the bottlenecks, no one could escape. This is not even funny because i can tell you, if it happens, tragedy won't be the word to describe it.

    Oh! Before i forget, i highly advice girls to avoid such events. There are whole groups of overactive nerds and Indian bangladeshi people in the show that are obviously not there for the purchase. I caught a few of them simply looking for where the crowd was thickest and closest to the booth girls so they can rub against the ladies 'accidentally'. And also, ladies, try not to wear high heels to such events because poor people like me wear slippers and i was 'stabbed' a few times by people walking past. Do have mercy on nice people like me.

    That said, there were some truly good deals, like Sony Bravia 32 inch tvs for $799. Games at below $20 and outside storage of 500gb for a mere $199. Its real cost savings if you are into these things. Otherwise, stay far far away.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:2 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      --1
    Comments on this review:
    1. Polarbear
      Polarbear said:
      U win alr. Wrote a review longer than me and claudia! Wahahaha...... AT least u got a letter opener. I got a $10 vouchor only. Soneone in front of my queue won the PSP. Hee.....
      18 Mar 2008 at 8:45 am
    2. Lucardia
      Lucardia said:
      Wah, i was so aiming for the psp lor.
      19 Mar 2008 at 4:36 pm
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  3. Polarbear
     103
          
     13 Mar 2008 at 10:47 am

    IT show was on over the past 4 days. Initially, I did not has any intention to step near the exhibition hall as I knew that tons and tons of people,from 8 months old to 80 years old, will be there! This time round there was nothing that I need to buy so in order for me not to have any temptation, I decided to stay clear of the area.

    Maybe I spoke too soon! Hee....

    Saturday, decided to pop in to see see look look. The crowd was really huge and there are a lot of choke points even before we stepped into the exhibition hall. This time round, the IT show occupied 4 floors, which means the whole area already!

    Level 1: Canon Redemption Area.

    Level 3: Starhub, Sony

    Level 4: Major brands

    Level 6: All other brands

    This time round although the organisers said that they expanded the walkway to 4 m but I still think they could do better. The management of the place could be done better as well. There is a few bottlenecks especially the one at Food Republic, that one is a killer and with people moving carrying hot food etc. If any one want to do anything funny, they could do it there as there are large boxes lying around at any one time. It seems that they security guard are just minding their own business at the entrance.

    I also notice a lot of people just go in and collect brochures. So what is the use of doing that when you dun intend to buy anything? Like to squeeze with the crowd? After collecting the brochure, I am 99% sure that they will land up in the dustbin, worse still on the floors of the exhibition area.

    One last complaint, can we bar all the parents from bringing in their baby prams into the exhibition hall. It is already so packed and yet still push a pram along. Babies, young kids and pram should be left outside the hall and have someone to look after them. IT show is not the place for leisure shopping anyway. I gena a lot of time of prams pushed to my poor leg and feet. Not to mention if the kid or baby went missing. OMG!

    To survive IT show, you need to decide what you going to buy even before you step into the hall. it is possible now as all the prices would be in the newspapers anyway. Then just stay focus, go in and buy what you want and get out of the place.

    Looking at everyone leaving with LVD TVs, printer, laptops... Hmm.... who say Sporeans have no money?

    Wanan to make a guess what I had bought on impulse? Wahahaha.....

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:3 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. claud
      claud said:
      You bought something?? Hmm... new camera??
      13 Mar 2008 at 2:19 pm
    2. Polarbear
      Polarbear said:
      something bigger! Wahahaha....
      13 Mar 2008 at 2:32 pm
    3. Polarbear
      Polarbear said:
      Read my blog. Ans is there. Wahahaha
      13 Mar 2008 at 3:57 pm
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!


Write A Review

By checking this box, I agree with Yebber.com's Terms of Use.

Or use your Facebook account to create a new Yebber ID (no Registration form to fill)


(Minimum of 500 characters)

Rating

  (Click stars to rate)
1 Star - Please Avoid2 Stars - Below Average3 Stars - Average4 Stars - Good5 Stars - Excellent


September's Exchange Rate

1=SGD 0.0587

How Do I Earn Yebber$?
16 Yebbers Online!
Double Yebber Dollar Category for September:

Pets

Click here for future month