You are at Yebber
At Yebber, you can rate, review & find everything from restaurants & shopping to hotels & spas
Notice something wrong here? Edit Business Info
Read Reviews
4.0
from 1 to 5
4 Reviews
390 Orchard Road
Palais Renaissance Unit B1-08 to 11
Singapore
Postal code: Show postal code
Telephone: (65) 6734-2700
Website:
Category:
Restaurants » Desserts, Deli & Cafe
Photos of Marmalade Pantry (Palais Renaissance) - RestaurantsPhotos of Marmalade Pantry (Palais Renaissance) - RestaurantsPhotos of Marmalade Pantry (Palais Renaissance) - RestaurantsPhotos of Marmalade Pantry (Palais Renaissance) - RestaurantsPhotos of Marmalade Pantry (Palais Renaissance) - Restaurants

The Marmalade Pantry at Palais Renaissance brings cutting edge bistro dining and glamourous food retail to Orchard Road, and delivers style, substance and a whole lot of fun!

Their menu is conceptualized and executed by acclaimed Chefs Robin Ho. Attached please find the inventive and extremely satisfying menu available at The Marmalade Pantry; serving lunch, tea, dinner and the ultimate all day Sunday brunch.

    Overall Rating:
    » 4 Reviews for “Marmalade Pantry (Palais Renaissance) ” - Restaurants


  1. ladyironchef
     301
         
     22 Apr 2009 at 3:34 pm
       Marmalade Pantry (Palais Renaissance) - Restaurants   Marmalade Pantry (Palais Renaissance) - Restaurants   Marmalade Pantry (Palais Renaissance) - Restaurants   Marmalade Pantry (Palais Renaissance) - Restaurants   Marmalade Pantry (Palais Renaissance) - Restaurants

    Foie Gras is in my blood. Having said that, I’m more beef than Foie Gras, really. Wedges here, is my awesome assistant, The new Spring fashion is so passé, sun-dried tomato is the latest in-thing now! Marmalade Pantry’s famous, Sun-dried tomato Foie Gras Burger ($26).

    My name is Chocolate, Chocolate Truffe ($7.80). I’m the ladies man, smooth is my texture, sweet is my nature. Try me, and you are sold. No one can resist my temptations, the thick, oh-so-thick chocolate which is so rich and good.

    Hello everybody, eh, my name is Chocolate Tart ($4.20). I don’t have anything to say about myself. I’m a simple guy, but they say my chocolate is wondeful, I will rather keep a low profile. Please, don’t tell anybody else. Thank you.

    They call me little miss rose ($4.2). I’m very girly and feminine in nature, but most people just judged me by my appearances. I snub those pretentious of my kind who can only face the world with their frosting make-ups. Simple is beautiful, once you get to know me, the ladies worship me and the guys adore me.

    The spokesperson for Marmalade, everybody calls for me when they are here. It will be impossible if you have not heard about Sticky Date toffee pudding ($12) by now. My companion, the lovely Vanilla bean ice cream compliments me perfectly.

    ***

    Having heard so much about Marmalade Pantry Foie Gras burger, the few of us were rather disappointed by it because there just wasn’t much foie gras taste. But the wedges that accompanied the burger was very good.

    The chocolate truffle cake, and chocolate tart was wonderful, with the chocolate being very sweet yet not overly heavy. By now having tried two of Toast (under the same group as Marmalade) cupcakes and another one today, I must say their cupcakes are the better ones around. Moist and rich, there wasn’t any pretty frosting, just a solid good cupcake.

    The sticky date toffee pudding also did not impressed us. Perhaps it was undone by its famous reputation, we were somewhat expecting more from it, but it never came. Nonetheless, nobody could resist having cold icy vanilla bean ice cream with the warm pudding.

    Total bill was $64.15 for 6 person. Even though the burger and pudding did not exactly wow me, but I will definitely come back to try the array of desserts available, and of course their cupcakes.

    You are always welcome to visit ladyironchef for a full-up on this trip. Whatever written herein are my genuine feelings expressed in words. Food, my dear, is what they call an adventure!

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:4 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. krisandro
      krisandro said:
      I was hoping you'll say that the Foie Gras burger is amazing so that I will find a reason to go down...
      22 Apr 2009 at 4:14 pm
    2. ladyironchef
      ladyironchef said:
      hahahah the burger was quite good la, very beefy, jus that foie gras was, em. haha go try and write a review like finally? LOL
      23 Apr 2009 at 12:00 pm
    3. krisandro
      krisandro said:
      Food review? I did hor! Go check out Rosti. I wonder if they r closing soon after my review. haah
      24 Apr 2009 at 1:56 pm
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  2. feizhu
     506
         
     12 Mar 2009 at 10:44 pm
       Marmalade Pantry (Palais Renaissance) - Restaurants   Marmalade Pantry (Palais Renaissance) - Restaurants   Marmalade Pantry (Palais Renaissance) - Restaurants   Marmalade Pantry (Palais Renaissance) - Restaurants   Marmalade Pantry (Palais Renaissance) - Restaurants

    Leisurely lunches have, for most working class people, always been the exception rather then the norm. I attest to that norm personally so it was with much delight that I embraced a rare opportunity to engage in one at Marmalade Pantry - home to the tai tai crowd.

    Marmalade's Orchard outlet is aptly located at the upscale Palais Renaissance, boasting an open concept sitting area smack in the middle of the mall. Wrap leather sofa seats coupled with heavy wooden tables and chairs complete the somewhat "cafeish" look. The clientele here consists mainly of reasonably well heeled executives and of course the tais tais, who spend hours on end sipping their tea/coffee over a slice of cake or dessert. So there I was, like a fish out of water.

    Pan-Roasted Red Snapper - I didn't think too much of this dish as it didn't exactly strike me as good. The almond/breadcrumb crust gave it a nice crunchy texture and the fish overall had a zesty tinge to it. But it just wasn't sweet. I'm pretty sure the chickpeas didn't help matters.

    The Ultimate Beef Burger - For something to be termed "The Ultimate", it must possess a certain level of quality, something that was sorely lacking in this dish. The beef patty was hard and dry even though there were evident traces of juices within and not to mention, salty. So salty that it overwhelmed any beefy taste that I would have appreciated in any beef burger. It didn't help that the patty was dwarfed by the huge buns that made the whole burger look like the letter 'I' as well. And before I forget, the fries were probably factory cut frozen fries.

    Homemade Lemon Tart - I'm not usually a fan of sourish stuff so I reserve my comments on this one save for the fact that I didn't cringe when I took a mouthful of it.

    Sticky Date Toffee Pudding - Words elude me as I attempt to describe the sticky date pudding. Would words like amazing fit the bill? Absolutely not. Moist yet compact and spongy, it brought back distinct childhood memories of eating MacDonald's hotcakes with honey syrup, very much like what the serving of ratatouille did to Anton Ego in the movie. The vanilla bean ice cream alongside proved a nice complement.

    The burger aside, I think food quality is generally decent for the price ($83 for 2 mains and 2 desserts) but the piece de resistance would have to be the desserts. Service seems a little inexperienced but still generally decent.

    See all my pictures here.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:4 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. spindoctor
      spindoctor said:
      Looks like the dessert saved the day. Must be excellent.
      12 Mar 2009 at 11:08 pm
    2. feizhu
      feizhu said:
      The sticky date pudding was. :D
      13 Mar 2009 at 11:47 am
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  3. Bobo
     154
          
     01 Mar 2009 at 8:55 pm
       Marmalade Pantry (Palais Renaissance) - Restaurants   Marmalade Pantry (Palais Renaissance) - Restaurants   Marmalade Pantry (Palais Renaissance) - Restaurants   Marmalade Pantry (Palais Renaissance) - Restaurants

    Situated right in the centre of Palais Renaissance, you can find this place easily as it's at the foot of the escalator. My galfriend and I went there on a weekday afternoon just before lunch hours so we had the luxury of choosing any seat we wanted. I had expected it to remain quiet save for a few tai-tais but BOY was I wrong. At noon, the whole place filled up.

    We sat for quite a bit, chatting and taking a long time going through the menu. Throughout that time, no iced water was served. I thought that this is one of those that refuse to serve water so I commented about it to my friend. She laughed and replied that you have to ASK for it though it's free. That really puzzled me.

    Food ordered: Linguini with crabmeat tomato chllis and pinenuts $22 I had this dish. Don't be fooled but that little lump. It really is quite a filling portion. The pinenuts added a nice crunchy texture to the pasta and the pasta was suitably done. The downside of this dish was the sauce. It tasted fine on the first few bites but halfway I really couldn't stand the fishy taste of the crabmeat anymore. It was also unbearably salty after a while and I didn't finish my pasta.

    Scrambled Eggs with Sausage on Toast and Field Mushrooms $18 The description forgot to add that it had fries too. My friend ordered it, thinking it sounded like a great brunch only to be surprised by the large serving of fries that came with it. The combination was a little odd but each item tasted fine on their own. I didn't relish putting them altogether in one mouthful though.

    Deluxe Chocolate Pecan Brownie Again, the description failed to include that there was ice cream served with this brownie (although I do know that most places have ice cream but it's not quite polite to assume.) If I had known this, I would have requested for the ice cream to placed on a separate dish. Not to mention if you take a good look at my picture, the ice cream was already melting when it arrived. Since my friend and I had no intention of having the ice cream in the first place we didn't ask for a change. I found the brownie a little too dry for my taste and the chocolate taste wasn't strong enough. It was more like a cake with a hard crust. We chatted for 3 hours and managed to finish this in the end. No easy feat though.

    The staff were quite efficient in taking orders and serving but they lack a certain warmth. I guess that's their style.

    Would I go back again? Only if a good friend suggested it.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:3 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. ladyironchef
      ladyironchef said:
      i haven dine there, cos they got the no-photography rule. hmm.. it was full eh? i went by once it was desserted. maybe the timing also
      07 Mar 2009 at 7:49 pm
    2. Bobo
      Bobo said:
      Eh... i took photos le. :)
      08 Mar 2009 at 12:09 am
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!


Write A Review

By checking this box, I agree with Yebber.com's Terms of Use.

Or use your Facebook account to create a new Yebber ID (no Registration form to fill)


(Minimum of 500 characters)

Rating

  (Click stars to rate)
1 Star - Please Avoid2 Stars - Below Average3 Stars - Average4 Stars - Good5 Stars - Excellent


November's Exchange Rate

1=SGD 0.0587

How Do I Earn Yebber$?
19 Yebbers Online!
Double Yebber Dollar Category for November:

Sport & Recreation

Click here for future month