You are at Yebber
At Yebber, you can rate, review & find everything from restaurants & shopping to hotels & spas
Notice something wrong here? Edit Business Info
Read Reviews
3.2
from 1 to 5
6 Reviews
902 East Coast Parkway
Blk B Playground @ Big Spash, #01-11/12
Singapore
Postal code: Show postal code
Telephone: (65) 6346-3055
Category:
Restaurants » European
Photos of Mingles La’ Brassarie (Big Splash) - RestaurantsPhotos of Mingles La’ Brassarie (Big Splash) - RestaurantsPhotos of Mingles La’ Brassarie (Big Splash) - RestaurantsPhotos of Mingles La’ Brassarie (Big Splash) - RestaurantsPhotos of Mingles La’ Brassarie (Big Splash) - Restaurants

    Overall Rating:
    » 6 Reviews for “Mingles La’ Brassarie (Big Splash) ” - Restaurants


  1. feizhu
     506
         
     04 Jul 2008 at 9:32 pm

    Was back at Mingles for lunch one weekday afternoon because I wanted to try out their seemingly inexpensive set lunches. It also helped that the place was virtually empty.

    Complimentary Bread & Cream of Pumpkin - I didn't think too much of either the complimentary bread or the cream of pumpkin soup. The bread was well, bread that you can get off the shelves at any supermarket. The cream of pumpkin was way too sweet for my liking and I don't know if my tastebuds were playing tricks on me, but the soup actually tasted very strongly of curry powder.

    Crispy Salmon with Couscous - I tried a little of this and found it quite decent with the skin pan fried till crispy. There was also a noticeable absence of the overpowering (to me) fishy taste that is common to salmons. I didn't quite fancy the couscous though, but thats just a personal preference.

    Crispy Chicken With Yogurt - Served up atop a mound of subtly sweet mashed sweet potato, the crispy chicken was surprisingly quite good with its crisp skin and succulent meat. However the down side to crispy skin is the inordinate amount of oil that comes with it. And I couldn't taste any yogurt at all.

    Ice Cream in Waffle Basket - The ice cream tasted rather normal although it was supposed to be from New Zealand. The waffle basket tasted funny though , dry with a kept for too long in the cupboard taste.

    2 set lunches set us back by about $48, which puts it in the mid range for set lunch prices. Service is still excellent and the environment is definitely cosy. Will definitely drop by for lunch again.

    See all my pictures here.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:3 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. ladyironchef
      ladyironchef said:
      prices seem reasonable eh? but its at big splash!
      05 Jul 2008 at 9:46 am
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  2. malique
     4
       
     18 Jun 2008 at 1:51 pm
       Mingles La   Mingles La   Mingles La   Mingles La

    If you are sick of the obligatory seafood centre at the east coast park, well this is the perfect place for you!

    Located at the [email protected] Splash, the place brings back some memories and well, notorious ones. I remember going to the beach splash when i was a small kid, and also remember going there during NS, when it was a ghetto looking night club. So glad of this recent facelift to the beach splash!

    Mingles interior serves you a laid back look. Totally laid back. And the staff are very accommodating. So much so that they remember if you had warm or chilled water. Food is good but i must say mine was a bit too salty. My partner had a lovely lobster linguine.

    Mingles have 2 specialities. Sausages and ice cream. Or was it gelato? I'm sorry but i can't recall! Didn't try any sausages though.

    I come here not for the food. but for the experience. If you're looking for something new, give mingles a try. Finish off with a cuppa at starbucks (just next door) and end it off with a walk by the beach.

    Sounds nice yeah ;)

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:4 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. Bobo
      Bobo said:
      Have to take a walk there some time. Sounds nice indeed
      18 Jun 2008 at 9:15 pm
    2. malique
      malique said:
      it is! :D or if you're looking for fun, try the kangaroo shoes just opposite mingles. boing boing.
      19 Jun 2008 at 1:50 am
    3. ladyironchef
      ladyironchef said:
      ah, i haven go big splash yet since it open
      22 Jun 2008 at 3:09 pm
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  3. nadbe11e
     78
       
     08 Jun 2008 at 11:14 am
       Mingles La   Mingles La   Mingles La

    After driving around from AMK to Town, my bf n i ended up @ this establishment(since iv never actualli been to the Big Splash).

    The menu looked intresting and I was already famished so we tot we'd give the place a shot.

    After much deliberation we ordered items that could probably feed a party of 3.

    Calamari Fritti - $9.90 Pan Seared Barramundi with Truffle Sauce - 23.90 Sausage with roesti - $16.90 Cheese Fries - $5.90 Bread Roll with butter - $1.90 2 Pepsi - $3.50(each)

    the Bread and Calamari came within ten minutes and were pretty good. Calamari was not the typical body of the calamari but the tentacle like thingy. Not rubbery even after it became slightly cold after a while. THe batter was light and not too jerlak.

    My fish came soon after and I was a bit hesitant to dig in at first as i smelt a slight hint of fishyness so was worried the taste myt bee too much. Attacked the asparagus first and fell in love with the sauce. Asparagus was crunchy n yet cooked just nice. Juicy too and went well with the sauce. Finally tried the fish and was pleasantly surprised that it didnt taste the slightest bit too fishy. In fact it was nicely cooked, flaky and i even ate it without the aid of chilli sauce.

    Bfs Chicken Black Pepper Sausage was not bad too. It was just like how fatpig described it. I found the variety of sausages available quite impressive though. The roesti was a tad bland tho. But still ok...

    Service was alrite. Was abit put off by the behavior or some of the staff who were huddled together n guys being guys, checking out people walking by and joking around. Was mainly served by one particular staff who I was impressed with. Was attentive and polite. Another staff also scored points when he constantli refilled my bfs water n checked on us after a while asking how we found the food.

    Overall liked what I had. Maybe if i have the car or something I might(i repeat) might return. But there are still other restaurants @ EC that I have yet to try.

    Citibank cardmembers get a 10% discount and i didnt notice a 7%gst charge.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:4 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
      Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!


    Write A Review

    By checking this box, I agree with Yebber.com's Terms of Use.

    Or use your Facebook account to create a new Yebber ID (no Registration form to fill)


    (Minimum of 500 characters)

    Rating

      (Click stars to rate)
    1 Star - Please Avoid2 Stars - Below Average3 Stars - Average4 Stars - Good5 Stars - Excellent


    May's Exchange Rate

    1=SGD 0.0587

    How Do I Earn Yebber$?
    20 Yebbers Online!
    Double Yebber Dollar Category for May:

    Services

    Click here for future month