You are at Yebber
At Yebber, you can rate, review & find everything from restaurants & shopping to hotels & spas
Notice something wrong here? Edit Business Info
Read Reviews
3.5
from 1 to 5
8 Reviews
#07-2354 Chin Swee Road
Singapore
Postal code: Show postal code
Telephone: (65) 6532-5266
Category:
Restaurants » Chinese (Traditional)
Photos of Red Star Restaurant - RestaurantsPhotos of Red Star Restaurant - RestaurantsPhotos of Red Star Restaurant - RestaurantsPhotos of Red Star Restaurant - RestaurantsPhotos of Red Star Restaurant - Restaurants

    Overall Rating:
    » 8 Reviews for “Red Star Restaurant ” - Restaurants


  1. Gidman
     22
       
     08 Apr 2008 at 8:41 pm

    Located at a quiet corner somewhere near Chinatown, sits a traditional dim sum restaurant known as Red Star Restaurant. It is on the 7th floor of a multi storey carpark, quite a weird location for a restaurant. My girlfriend and I took a 7-10 mins walk from Chinatown MRT station (Walk along exit D).

    The dim sum is pushed around in trolleys by waitresses, and the service from them is rather friendly. Feel free to ask them for more sauces if you want. Basically, we had prawn chee cheong fun, steamed spare ribs, siew mai, fried prawn dumplings, steamed prawn on tofu, bbq pork bun, century egg porridge and egg tarts.

    Special mentions -

    1)The egg tarts are a must-try. The egg custard is smooth and not too sweet. The crust is crispy and flaky. The egg tarts are usually sold out at about 130pm.

    2)The Siew Mai is also one of the better dish compared to other dim sum restaurants. The meat complements the prawn very well.

    3)The steamed spare ribs was good because the meat was soft and abundant, unlike some which has a lot of the ribs and very little meat and also very tough. But it is slightly more oily which is the down side.

    Total bill came up to about $33 for 2. We left the restaurant satisfied and pleased that traditional dim sum still exists. Long live Red Star!

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:4 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      --1
    Comments on this review:
    1. Bobo
      Bobo said:
      WAH I want to try... *sob*
      08 Apr 2008 at 9:41 pm
    2. Lucardia
      Lucardia said:
      OOoo...dim sum again. Lol. Nice! Must go try!
      08 Apr 2008 at 9:52 pm
    3. feizhu
      feizhu said:
      The problem with red star is that theres no price for each item on the bill so theres no way u can double check. I kena cheated once before.
      08 Apr 2008 at 11:40 pm
    4. 1 more comment »
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  2. ladyironchef
     301
         
     19 Jan 2008 at 4:52 pm
       Red Star Restaurant - Restaurants   Red Star Restaurant - Restaurants   Red Star Restaurant - Restaurants   Red Star Restaurant - Restaurants   Red Star Restaurant - Restaurants

    Red Star is a very old, conventional chinese restaurant, located at chin swee road (some way behind people’s park). Its at level 7 of a old building just above the chin swee HDB office. Funny place to have a restaurant you will say, but when we reach there at 1pm, it is fully crowded. Having been to Red Star when i was young many many years back, i was relatively surprise when my colleagues want to go to Red Star for our farewell lunch. Red Star is still going strong after so many years.

    A traditional Chinese Dim-sum restaurant with the trolley-pushing the dim-sum around, the waitress will push the trolley around with the dim-sum. Nowadays most dim sum restaurants does not do that anymore, it is usually ticking off the form of what dim-sum you want, and the waitress will bring it to you.

    We had egg tarts, har-gau, siew-mai, cheong fun, char shao siew, glutinous rice in lotnus leaf, fried bean curd, fried prawn rolls, steamed pork ribs, century egg congee. The dim sum is quite good and simple. For desserts we had mango puddings and gui lin gao. No pictures were taken cos i did not bring my ixus with me.

    Between the 9 of us, we had 41 plates of dim-sum, total bill comes up to $161.40 for nine person, which is like $18 for one person. Price quite reasonable i guess, each plate of dim-sum is about $2.80. Service-wise, it can be faster, but mayb there is too much people so they took a bit slower. We were like staring at each other waiting for more dim-sum to come.

    You are always welcome to visit Ladyironchef.com for a full-up on this trip. Whatever written above are my geniune feelings expressed in words that may be subjected to my personal distortion or bias. Please do not feel emotional or distress should you have any violent objections. Kindly click the little X at the upper, extreme right of your screen if negative adjectives would be derived. Otherwise, feel free to furnish me with comments, may it be positive or negative : )

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:4 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. Bobo
      Bobo said:
      Whheee! steady. but now.. the problem is how to get there....
      19 Jan 2008 at 5:10 pm
    2. ladyironchef
      ladyironchef said:
      miss bobo u nv been there? OMG! hahaha. i tot everyone knows red star. its the place to have your dim-sum! lol!
      19 Jan 2008 at 5:21 pm
    3. Polarbear
      Polarbear said:
      yah i have to agree with bobo, going there is troublesome. They do serve some of the old tradtitional dim sum which i like.
      20 Jan 2008 at 1:04 am
    4. 1 more comment »
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!


Write A Review

By checking this box, I agree with Yebber.com's Terms of Use.

Or use your Facebook account to create a new Yebber ID (no Registration form to fill)


(Minimum of 500 characters)

Rating

  (Click stars to rate)
1 Star - Please Avoid2 Stars - Below Average3 Stars - Average4 Stars - Good5 Stars - Excellent


July's Exchange Rate

1=SGD 0.0587

How Do I Earn Yebber$?
32 Yebbers Online!
Double Yebber Dollar Category for July:

Restaurants

Click here for future month