You are at Yebber
At Yebber, you can rate, review & find everything from restaurants & shopping to hotels & spas
Notice something wrong here? Edit Business Info
Read Reviews
1.8
from 1 to 5
4 Reviews
237/239 Jalan Kayu
Singapore
Postal code: Show postal code
Telephone: (65) 6481-1537
Category:
Eating Places » Coffee Shops
Restaurants » Indian
Photos of Thasevi Famous Jalan Kayu Prata - Eating PlacesPhotos of Thasevi Famous Jalan Kayu Prata - Eating PlacesPhotos of Thasevi Famous Jalan Kayu Prata - Eating Places

    Overall Rating:
    » 4 Reviews for “Thasevi Famous Jalan Kayu Prata ” - Eating Places


  1. FoodDiary
     1
       
     26 Oct 2008 at 8:45 pm

    Being overcharge & when confronted them, the owner of the shop shouted rudely to us & instead ask us to top up S$4 then S$5 and the more we spoke a dollar more increase. We was charge S$36 for 1plate of Mutton Bryani, 2plate of chicken Bryani & 3 can of coke. Our Bryani was serve without any gravy eventhough we had requested repeatedly but it was not serve. Waited 1hr10mins for the food.The owner of the shop should take up manners course. He is vainly too proud & rude just because his business is doin well.

    No wonder they request for payment upon ordering s they intend to cheat customer. I will definately wont be going to this day light robbery lack of manners shop

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:1 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
      Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
    1. lynette118
       1
         
       26 Jul 2008 at 5:10 am

      Went to that Thasevi jalan kayu prata stall this evening...service is horrible!!!

      I have to queue up to order and when it was my turn, i was asked which table but i told that silly cashier that i dont have a table as I'm alone. He then told me to search for a table and REPORT to him!! I did it obediently. By the time I REPORTED to him, I found that, that table was taken up by a group! so I told him that I need to look for another table as it was taken up.

      Can you imagine this??? he was so angry with me! and kept repeating 3 times : 'Mdm it's your fault'. Initially, I just took that comment and was about to pay for my order, he kept repeating it again!

      This time, I blew my top! very loudly I told him off if that's the way they treat customers?

      I'm also utterly surprised that no one in the queue came to my help. THey all looked like zoombies or mesmerized..looking like robots with the message : if you are out of the queue, then my turn will be next..so speed it up!!!!

      OMG!!!! what's happening to us!! we can be tolerant on certain issues but I dont see why we should be tolerant of such rudeness and cockiness! it;s like we have no other places to have pratas and to spend our hard earned money?

      Frankly, even if I have to join a long queue at any fast food outlet, I'm always greeted well by the counter staff and that made up for the time queuing up.

      There are better pratas anywhere and most have already improved with their crispiness and are less oily.

      Let's support those who are doing their best to show that they can do it too! and avoid those who think that they have already carved and secured a good name for themselves, prizing as the best when in actual fact, they are the ones who should be improving in all areas!

      Please avoid this place till they relook at how they can improve customer service and the pricing of their cheap food.

      Tags: 3  add tags
      Rating given:1 stars
      Was this review useful?  
       
        +3
      Comments on this review:
      1. genesis
        genesis said:
        Never liked this place. Give me casurina or Prata place anytime! :)
        26 Jul 2008 at 5:54 pm
      2. Jeslyn Tee
        Jeslyn Tee said:
        Hmm ... service is more impt no matter how good the food there is .. Don't really die die must eat prata
        03 Jan 2009 at 5:22 pm
      Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
    2. Lucardia
       234
            
       26 Apr 2008 at 12:52 pm
         Thasevi Famous Jalan Kayu Prata - Eating Places   Thasevi Famous Jalan Kayu Prata - Eating Places   Thasevi Famous Jalan Kayu Prata - Eating Places

      What hasn't been said of this now famous prata stall? Maybe the fact that they have finally beaten off the prata stall next door who used to leech on their name to make a quick buck i suppose. Other then that, i've been eating at this place since my national service days and the food price has just continued to rise and excel in ways i can't imagine.

      Prata Kosong (80 cents a piece) - What is a roti prata? Its basically flour, squashed to dough form and later twirled around like some pancake or circus act in the air before being put on a flat metal cooking stove and cooked to doneness depending on the chef. So essentially, its just flour, some eggs, some oil and a little skill.

      Thasevi's has been around a long long time, 48 years to be exact and they've been residing in Jalan Kayu since then. There used to be a competitor next to the stall but it has finally been beaten off. Both were fighting for the "Original Jalan Kayu Prata" title. Guess we now know who is the real one. However, with this exclusion, i can't help but notice that there's a cockiness instilled into the survivor that is ..... not pleasing at all. Rude and cocky describes it but i guess thats what winners do.

      To the prata itself, their version is actually quite normal. I honestly can't find anything to justify why their prata is better then others. Maybe its the consistently small serving? Or the extremely oily and soft prata? No matter, what i'm saying is, its nothing special to me and i've had better. If my memory serves me right, the competitor that is now gone had crispier and more fragrant prata.

      To its credit, Thesavi has reasonably tasty curry. Its all authentic and spicy stuff but there's a price to pay for them as well. Last i had, it was about $5 for the curry with a piece of chicken or mutton. This is a place you can easily spend $20 just eating something thats 400% to 600% less that amount.

      The life saving thing about the place is that its 24 hours and people can come anytime. Other than that, its just average at best and seriously overpriced at worst. I wouldn't return since there are much better prata at decent prices with good service to round it all up.

      Tags: 3  add tags
      Rating given:2 stars
      Was this review useful?  
       
        +1
      Comments on this review:
      1. ladyironchef
        ladyironchef said:
        hahah. i tot this place very famous for prata? over-rated?
        26 Apr 2008 at 4:01 pm
      2. Muffy
        Muffy said:
        Agreed that the service was bad. All of them have the "couldnt be bothered look"
        26 Apr 2008 at 8:21 pm
      3. Lucardia
        Lucardia said:
        Yeah, maybe its time for a reality check.
        28 Apr 2008 at 11:30 pm
      Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!


    Write A Review

    By checking this box, I agree with Yebber.com's Terms of Use.

    Or use your Facebook account to create a new Yebber ID (no Registration form to fill)


    (Minimum of 500 characters)

    Rating

      (Click stars to rate)
    1 Star - Please Avoid2 Stars - Below Average3 Stars - Average4 Stars - Good5 Stars - Excellent


    April's Exchange Rate

    1=SGD 0.0587

    How Do I Earn Yebber$?
    63 Yebbers Online!
    Double Yebber Dollar Category for April:

    Arts & Entertainment

    Click here for future month