You are at Yebber
At Yebber, you can rate, review & find everything from restaurants & shopping to hotels & spas
Notice something wrong here? Edit Business Info
Read Reviews
3.8
from 1 to 5
5 Reviews
271 Bukit Timah Road,
#01-02 Balmoral Plaza,
Singapore
Postal code: Show postal code
Category:
Restaurants » American, Desserts
Photos of Waffletown - RestaurantsPhotos of Waffletown - RestaurantsPhotos of Waffletown - RestaurantsPhotos of Waffletown - RestaurantsPhotos of Waffletown - Restaurants
May we also recommend these Restaurants outlets:
  • None Found
    1. Overall Rating:
      » 5 Reviews for “Waffletown ” - Restaurants


    2. ladyironchef
       301
           
       02 Jul 2008 at 9:33 pm
         Waffletown - Restaurants   Waffletown - Restaurants   Waffletown - Restaurants   Waffletown - Restaurants   Waffletown - Restaurants

      A long long time ago, we have A & W for our fix of waffles and root beer floats. Now that they are gone, Waffletown seems to be the only substitute for A & W. Located in Balmoral Plaza at Bukit Timah, the place is actually quite accessible because its only about ten minutes walk away from Newton MRT. Taking a bus from Orchard road takes a mere ten minutes too.

      Offering the same “American” style of fastfood, even the seats are “A & W”-like. There’s seats outside if you prefer to seat in their “al fresco” area, otherwise go on in to their air-conditioned areas inside.

      The place is a let-down though, the seats are all right, just like your fastfood restaurant chain. But i find the interior to be a little shabby. Actually i am saying this because i felt that Waffletown has great potentials but the management somehow don’t seem to be too bothered about business.

      To prove my point, look at the first picture, they took some ugly shots of their food and post it at their entrance. The unglam shots are not even their focus which is waffles. Instead the shots are pictures of some totally unrelated food like black pepper steak, fish and chips, grilled fish.

      Single scoop chocolate chip waffle ($3.70)

      As the name Waffletown imples, its a place for waffles after all. Thus selections for waffles are aplenty, with your plain waffles at $2.50, there’s ham waffle, sausage waffle, turkey bacon waffle, and of course ice cream waffles.

      At $3.70 for a single scoop ice cream waffle, its really a steal though. Even Haato which has one of the cheaper waffles around, are selling at $6 for their single scoop waffles. But then again you can’t compare it this way because the ice cream at Haato are gelato, while the ones here are the normal ice cream.

      Single scoop raspberry waffle ($3.70)

      The raspberry ice cream is really nostalgic, remember the raspberry ice cream which we buy from the motorcycle uncle when we were young? Its exactly the same one! My friend says that raspberry flavor is still available at supermarket, but i can’t seem to find it.

      But i can conclude that at the waffles are definitely better than Gelare. That one is expensive, normal days single scoop waffle is almost ten bucks, and their waffle isn’t even good.

      2 Pc Fried Chicken set ($6.70)

      The two piece fried chicken set at $6.70, prices are comparable to KFC, but the chicken is slightly better. For one, the chicken isn’t as oily as KFC’s, and nowadays KFC standards really are not consistent. The coleslaw and potato here are at most average, with the chicken faring better.

      Total bill is $14.1 for 2 waffles and 2 piece fried chicken. Although the place can’t really substitute A&W which is deep in our heart, but it can be a replacement for now, until someone brings back A&W. I won’t say the waffles are that excellent, but at $3.70 they are really worth the price, and their fried chicken is all right if you dislike KFC.

      You are always welcome to visit http://www.ladyironchef.com/2008/07/02/waffletown for a full-up on this trip. Whatever written herein are my genuine feelings expressed in words. Food, my dear, is what they call an adventure!

      Tags: 3  add tags
      Rating given:4 stars
      Was this review useful?  
       
        +0
      Comments on this review:
      1. Lucardia
        Lucardia said:
        Talk about ulu. The interior and exterior definitely needs work.
        29 Aug 2008 at 1:58 pm
      2. ladyironchef
        ladyironchef said:
        haha, i finally got supporter. hfb was attacking me on this.
        29 Aug 2008 at 2:53 pm
      Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
    3. feizhu
       506
           
       08 Jun 2008 at 9:26 pm
         Waffletown - Restaurants   Waffletown - Restaurants   Waffletown - Restaurants   Waffletown - Restaurants   Waffletown - Restaurants

      Ever since the demise of A&W in Singapore, Waffletown is probably the only fast food outlet in Singapore that serves up fried chicken and waffles in a small unit reminiscent of an old school American diner.

      Located at Balmoral Plaza, the place isn't big and comes with brown table tops and orange chairs affixed to the ground just like A&W in the old days. A very serene sense of nostalgia sets in and one can't help but relish in the comfort it offers.

      2 Piece Chicken Set - The chicken skin was crispy sans the layer of fats beneath, which of course is the lesser of two evils. Meat was moist and juicy and didn't come across as oily as those served up by KFC. Only downside was the seasoning of the chicken, which I personally felt was a little inadequate. The accompanying fries and coleslaw tasted like those ready made ones you can buy off the shelves from any supermarket.

      Waffle with Blueberry and Vanilla Ice Cream & Waffle with Blackberry and Rum and Raisin Ice Cream - Since the place is called waffletown, its really a no brainer that waffles are their specialty. The waffles were very crispy but that in itself presents a problem, to me at least. Crispy waffles aren't moist and my idea of an ideal waffle should be crisp on the outside yet moist and full of bite on the inside. It must also be fragrant. Waffletown's waffles fulfilled the aroma criteria but they were crispy inside out, which made it a little like eating crackers. Fortunately, thats where the toppings and ice cream come into play, lending the waffles with additional flavour and moisture. All in all a good eat.

      At about $6.70 for a 2 piece chicken set that comes with 2 sides and a drink, Waffletown goes for about the same price as KFC. Quality is much higher here though but there is the problem of location.

      See all my pictures here.

      Tags: 3  add tags
      Rating given:3 stars
      Was this review useful?  
       
        +0
      Comments on this review:
      1. ladyironchef
        ladyironchef said:
        haha. its in bukit timah but i have yet to try. have to find some time for it
        08 Jun 2008 at 9:31 pm
      Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
    4. Polarbear
       103
            
       22 Apr 2008 at 1:32 pm
         Waffletown - Restaurants   Waffletown - Restaurants   Waffletown - Restaurants   Waffletown - Restaurants

      This place is a well hidden café in an ulu location. If HFB is not here to mention about it, I think I will never discover a place like this. Hee… Thks bro. All thks to him, FZ and bobo, I got the chance to visit this place. It is inside this building, Balmoral Plaza along Bukit Timah Road. Well I least I know I got a direct bus from my house now. Hee….

      When we reached, I got this brought back to the 80s feeling, because everything there is so retro (as put by Claudia). They got both outdoor (read: smoking) and indoor seats. Outdoor seats can be very noisy as it is next to the road where traffic can get quite heavy and noisy at times. For the indoor decoration, it is a very spacious with quite a number of seats and a few seats in the middle of a room. The counter and the kitchen took up half of the space there. Very simple designed. I loved the seats there. How should I put it? Hmm…. It is very “A&W” if you understand what I meant. Wahahahaha. Since it is called Wafflestown, they have to sell waffles, all different kinds of waffles and of course they also sell fried chicken as well. Yum Yum! We ordered 2 piece fried chicken set and 2 waffles.

      2 pieces fried chicken set @ $6.70 per set: When it came to our table, it looks like those chicken sets that are sold across all the western stalls in those coffee shops. It looks simple and I have to say not impressive on presentation. On the plate, there were 2 pieces of medium sized fried chicken, with 2 side dishes of coleslaw and French fries. I have to say that looks can be deceiving. The fried chicken came piping hot, once I tear the meat apart, the steam can be seen. Even though, some people did complain that it is a bit oily, but hey, it is fried chicken, supposed to be oily. Wahahahaha! I always like fried chicken. I liked their fried chicken; it is crispy on the outside, but moist and juicy on the meat inside. The chicken is also seasoned slightly, making the chicken tasty as well. The coleslaw is average; however it has all the big chucks of vegetables inside, making it very crunchy. The fries are normal, nothing fanciful.

      Now to the stars of the day, WAFFLES @ $4.90 each! We ordered Blueberry waffles and Blackberry waffles. Instead of the normal round waffles, both came in rectangular shapes. With a scoop of ice cream on top and covered with blue and black berrys and whipped cream along the sides. First on the waffles, they are FANTASTIC! One of the best I ever tasted! It is crispy on the outside but soft in the inside. It had big squares in it so that can hold the ice cream inside as well. The blueberries and blackberries are also good on their own. They are not too sweet but full of their own flavors, they came in big sized berries as well. Together they are a great combination. Based on the waffles alone, it is enough to make me come back for more!

      Expect for the bit ulu location which is my only complain. I think I will be back for more if possible! Go and give it a try!

      Tags: 3  add tags
      Rating given:4 stars
      Was this review useful?  
       
        +0
      Comments on this review:
      1. TrumPat
        TrumPat said:
        I wanna go!!!
        22 Apr 2008 at 1:46 pm
      2. Lucardia
        Lucardia said:
        Ooo...looks good. But so far away le.
        22 Apr 2008 at 1:52 pm
      3. Polarbear
        Polarbear said:
        Ok ok TP we go soon ok!
        22 Apr 2008 at 1:57 pm
      4. 4 more comments »
      Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!


    Write A Review

    By checking this box, I agree with Yebber.com's Terms of Use.

    Or use your Facebook account to create a new Yebber ID (no Registration form to fill)


    (Minimum of 500 characters)

    Rating

      (Click stars to rate)
    1 Star - Please Avoid2 Stars - Below Average3 Stars - Average4 Stars - Good5 Stars - Excellent


    May we also recommend these Restaurants outlets:
  • None Found
  • August's Exchange Rate

    1=SGD 0.0587

    How Do I Earn Yebber$?
    33 Yebbers Online!
    Double Yebber Dollar Category for August:

    Shopping

    Click here for future month