You are at Yebber
At Yebber, you can rate, review & find everything from restaurants & shopping to hotels & spas
Notice something wrong here? Edit Business Info
Read Reviews
3.0
from 1 to 5
8 Reviews
6 Raffles Boulevard
Marina Square, #01-213
Singapore
Postal code: Show postal code
Telephone: 6883-1123
Website:
Category:
Restaurants » Japanese
Photos of Waraku (Marina Square) - Restaurants

    Overall Rating:
    » 8 Reviews for “Waraku (Marina Square) ” - Restaurants


  1. Nemesis
     94
         
     25 Feb 2008 at 12:51 am

    Was at Marina Sq tdy to catch a show with my fren and decided to try out the Waraku outlet there. As we were quite early, there were plenty of seats available and we need not have to wait. As compared to the seats at the outlet at the Central, the seats here were definitely more comfy and more spaced out.

    So without wasting much time, I ordered Yakiniku Don, Chicken Kaarage, Chapon Udon and Kakiage. As for drinks , we decided to have lime juice.

    The Yakiniku DOn was really superb, with a generous amount of beef given and it was well-cooked. As for the Chapon Udon, it was a nice creamy soup based with Hotae, prawns and a couple slices of pork and vegetables. It was served in a hot stone bowl and the looks of it was enuff to make one drool.

    As for the other two dishes, they were quite nice as well and though they were fried food, it was not very oily , which was good.

    This has been my second time patronising Waraku and so far I had been really satisfied by their food standards. Will continue to patronise them unless they prove me otherwise.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:5 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +1
    Comments on this review:
    1. Bobo
      Bobo said:
      I like waraku too!
      25 Feb 2008 at 6:13 am
    2. s
      s said:
      try the noodle soup and the squid... cant recall what is the name but it was good...it is served whole and they sliced it for you.
      02 Mar 2008 at 12:41 am
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  2. subbie87
     10
       
     02 Jan 2008 at 8:30 pm

    Having eaten at Waraku (Katong Village) before, I decided to recommend a couple of friends to their outlet at Marina Square. The experience was quite different from what I would have expected.

    Firstly, the location was rather off, being tucked in a far away corner along the outside of Marina Square (facing the main road between Marina Square and Millenia Walk).

    Secondly, the queue that night was quite long, and we ended up waiting for almost an hour just for a table.

    Next thing was the service, which I thought was much better back in the Katong outlet. Over in Marina Square, the staff was slightly less attentive, especially with the ocha. Granted that this outlet is alot bigger and busier, but I believe more effort should be placed into it's customer service. Even the usual Japanese greeting (easily heard in almost every Japanese eating outlet now) was missing. Not that I would want to hear it for the millionth time, but it does make a difference.

    Having said all those, the food was quite up to standard. Variety is definitely good, but that should not be the only basis of comparism since all Waraku outlets share the same menu. The food was served rather quickly, so there was no need to wait long for food. Taste-wise, the food was similar to what I tasted before.

    Go for their set meals only if you can really eat or if you are hungry. The portions are BIG. Good for value of course. Do try their noodles of course. Wide variety to choose from that can definitely satisfy your tastebuds. The sashimi platter is also good, offering a variety of fresh fish, served on a large platter of ice.

    Prices are slightly steep, especially their sashimi. Noodles go for around S$10, and set meals up till about S$20. Still decent and affordable by most standards, unless you are really into sashimi and other premium stuff. If you enjoy japanese food, I'm sure the prices are affordable if you compared them to other restaurants like Sushi Tei.

    All in all, I must say that although I enjoyed the food at Waraku, I would think twice about going to this particular outlet. I'd still prefer to travel down to the other outlets for their food.

    There are a total of 5 outlets. More information available at http://www.waraku.com.sg/.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:3 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +1
    Comments on this review:
    1. Bobo
      Bobo said:
      Ya their set meals are really quite heavy and ala carte can be expensive..
      25 Feb 2008 at 6:14 am
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  3. tbb
     8
       
     02 Jan 2008 at 5:38 pm

    i didn't quite enjoy my food there. it's served in this big plate, i order a shrimp spag. and it's purely shrimp and spegetti. i find that the restaurant is too busy and noisy. First it's the shouting of greetings, then the rest of the customers trying to compete against the noise made by the staff. it's simply too stress and no ambience.

    the food wasn't so nice afterall.

    the service was ok. i think they have too many staff. but when it comes to billing. i think there is only one person who could do it. so we'll have to wait at the counter until the staff ask another more senior staff to do it.

    it wasn't a good experience.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:2 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. Polarbear
      Polarbear said:
      hmm.... u went waraku or the Pasta De Waraku. Different shop leh. Hee....
      02 Jan 2008 at 5:50 pm
    2. tbb
      tbb said:
      eh sorry ar. i went to the pasta one. :)
      03 Jan 2008 at 12:20 pm
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!


Write A Review

By checking this box, I agree with Yebber.com's Terms of Use.

Or use your Facebook account to create a new Yebber ID (no Registration form to fill)


(Minimum of 500 characters)

Rating

  (Click stars to rate)
1 Star - Please Avoid2 Stars - Below Average3 Stars - Average4 Stars - Good5 Stars - Excellent


May's Exchange Rate

1=SGD 0.0587

How Do I Earn Yebber$?
15 Yebbers Online!
Double Yebber Dollar Category for May:

Services

Click here for future month