You are at Yebber
At Yebber, you can rate, review & find everything from restaurants & shopping to hotels & spas
Notice something wrong here? Edit Business Info
Read Reviews
3.0
from 1 to 5
3 Reviews
1 Kim Seng Promenade
#02-k2 Great World City
Category:
Restaurants » Italian
Photos of Al Dente Pronto - RestaurantsPhotos of Al Dente Pronto - RestaurantsPhotos of Al Dente Pronto - RestaurantsPhotos of Al Dente Pronto - RestaurantsPhotos of Al Dente Pronto - Restaurants

    Overall Rating:
    » 3 Reviews for “Al Dente Pronto ” - Restaurants


  1. Bobo
     154
          
     30 Jan 2008 at 11:18 pm
       Al Dente Pronto - Restaurants   Al Dente Pronto - Restaurants   Al Dente Pronto - Restaurants   Al Dente Pronto - Restaurants

    Al Dento at Great World is an open concept cafe you can't miss if you're there. Its central location (Great World City) makes it not-too-inconvenient yet nice and quiet.

    Popped by for dinner with 3 other Yebbers that fateful Tuesday. Armed with the well-mentioned coupon, we were tempted to order almost everything on the menu.

    Of course we didn't... so here goes!

    Tomato Basil Brushetta @ $5 Our little starter was served pretty quickly. 8 pieces of thin toast... Well-buttered but the diced tomatoes were a tad too little. But it was relatively well-presented. A good number for the 4 of us which made me wonder briefly if it were done on purpose.

    Grilled Portobello Mushrooms @ $12 2 pieces... what did I expect right? Well it was a little small for Portobello but we made do. The sauce that came with it was just right, not too overpowering. The mushrooms were still juicy with good bite. But I still think it's too expensive at its original price.

    Pan-seared Butterfish @ $20 This dish was served with lumps of potato which really looked like Cheezels to me as they were very orange in colour. The fish didn't have too much of a fishy smell to me but the texture could be improved. The potatoes tasted like they were frozen... much like Tater Tots for those who remember what they are.

    Char-grilled Sirloin Steak @ $20 This dish was to be served medium rare but it was more well done than expected. I didn't taste this dish really so let my companions do the talking for ya.

    Arragosta Pasta @ $20 This is the pasta served with lobster meat. We could choose between two sauces, tomato and garlic. We had garlic sauce and the sauce sure came with a garlicky smell. I think this dish is pretty average. I had the joy of having more lobster meat though (thanks to Claudie).

    Smoked Chicken Pizza @ $17 I liked this one. The pizza was about 10". It didn't seem so impressive when it arrived but all the chicken was hidden beneath the cheese. It's been a long time since I've had pizza with that much meat. I like the crust which was thin and crisp at the edges but not thin enough to be charred. :)

    Macadamia scented Creme Brulee @ $8 I was the one who ordered this and I did regret a little after the first spoonful. The taste of the custard wasn't very strong. The texture of the custard wasn't smooth enough too. The caramelised top was too thin to add any taste to the dessert.

    Tiramisu @ $9 This is better than the Creme Brulee but still not good enough I guess. The top portion was too "tough" and the bottom was too soggy. That made it a little gross to swallow but the overall taste was fine.

    This meal would have cost the 4 of us $120 if not for the coupon. The service provided was satisfactory I guess. But unless I'm in the area and I don't fancy anything else, I don't think I would specially head there for this again.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:3 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. claud
      claud said:
      My lobster!!! :'(
      30 Jan 2008 at 11:43 pm
    2. Bobo
      Bobo said:
      *runs and hides*
      31 Jan 2008 at 6:06 am
    3. ladyironchef
      ladyironchef said:
      LOL! the power of yebber, three super long review for one restaurant. lol
      03 Feb 2008 at 10:24 pm
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  2. ladyironchef
     301
         
     30 Jan 2008 at 2:43 pm
       Al Dente Pronto - Restaurants   Al Dente Pronto - Restaurants   Al Dente Pronto - Restaurants   Al Dente Pronto - Restaurants   Al Dente Pronto - Restaurants

    Have you ever go into a Italiano restaurant, and all of a sudden feel ordering ALL the food available on the menu?

    All you look is at the food, without even giving the price tag a glance?

    Feeling excited, we might as well tell the waiter to serve EVERY dish they have on the menu!

    That’s precisely what happen to us when we went to Al Dente Pronto.

    Ahh.. You are confuse now right? Is the food so good that we wanted to order all the dishes? Alas, that’s not quite the raison d’être.

    The explication for our extravagant & exaggerated behavior is because … …

    We had a 50% discount coupon from OCBC. Yes, you didn’t see wrongly, half price for a la carte items during lunch & dinner, up to a table of 4 persons. Dinner was with the Yebbers. So everything we look at, we can only see half the price, and of course this makes it affordable and worry-free to order whatever we like. So we ordered mostly the more expensive dishes : )

    Tomato Basil Bruschetta ($5.0)

    We kick start our dinner with the Tomato Basil Bruschettra. Diced Tomato, Garlic, Basil, Oregano and olive oil formulate the starter. We were uncertain whether they gave 8 pieces because there are four of us, or it always come in 8 pieces irregardless of the number of people dining. All the same, we felt the starter could do with more tomato, mayb its because of the rising price in agriculture products in China. Think think. First bite into the Bruschettra was crispy and the garlic taste was done just nice. At $2.50 after discount, it was a real good deal.

    Grilled Portobello mushrooms ($12.0)

    Our second starter was the Grilled Portobello Mushrooms. Served with rocket salad and diced tomatos. The presentation of the dish was done beautifully, but sadly to sad i felt that at $12 it was definitely not worth the price. Even at half price i won’t order it again.

    Char-Grilled Sirloin Steak ($20.0)

    Finishing our starter, the waiter note our cue to start our Main course for the night. Our first main was the Char-Grilled Sirloin Steak. We requested for medium-rare, but then when the steak was served it was a tad tougher than what we expected from a medium-rare steak. I guess they sort of make it into medium-well instead. Well, its Italiano and not a steakhouse after all. Nevertheless, i felt that the steak was pretty decent, and at half the price of $10, it was value. Oh yes, we liked the potato that came with it, pretty much reminds us of our childhood.

    Pan-Seared Butterfish ($20.0)

    Served with potatos, sautèed vegetables and topped with a lemon dill butter glace. Al Dente Pronto actually only have three main course available, the other one being roasted corn fed chicken which we didn’t order. I suppose the raison d’être was because the mains are not really their area of specialty. Al Dente Pronto’s extensive variety of Italian Pizzas and Pastas are where they fare better.

    Smoked Chicken Pizza ($17.0)

    This is the star of tonight’s show. The Smoked Chicken Pizza might not look very special, but then they are undeniably scrumptious, with large chunks of chicken meat beneath the cheesy cheese. Pizza comes flat, thin and crispy

    Arragosta Pasta ($20.0)

    Spaghetti with Lobster meat, zucchini and mushrooms, with tomato stew or garlic sauce. We opted for garlic sauce with the belief that garlic can compliment Lobster meat better. And i thought the Arragosta Pasta comes out quite well, mayb except for the fact that it was slightly too dry. I like the lobster meat, which was quite generously furnish on top of the pasta. And i think zucchini (cucumbers) are rather a rare sight in pasta cuisine. Nonetheless, at half price of $10 i think its quite good for money, we are talking about Lobster meat after all.

    Tiramisu ($9.0)

    To end off the meal, we had Tiramisu as our first dessert. Layers of mascarpone with sponge fingers soaked in coffee and brandy, served with bittersweet chocolate powder The presentation was all right, but the cake was too tough, we had to literally dig inside it to get the tiramisu out.

    Macadamia Scented Crème Brulèe ($8.0)

    Caramelized custard, infused with Macadamia nut oil served with strawberries on the Macadamia Scented Crème Brulèe.

    Total Bill was $122.50 before discount, the amount that we paid for 4 person was $71.20 after discount. The calulations are kind of complicated because the 50% discount does not includes GST and service charge, so they had to count the total price without including them, half the price, and add on the 17% additional charges. Poof! Its comes down to around $18 for per person which i think is reasonably cheap.

    All in all, Al Dente Pronto is not really expensive (even without the promotion), the price ranges are mostly in the 10s to 20s. I wont say the food is excellent, in fact some are not. But then i suppose they are still acceptable to me. No you wont go all the way to the forgotton-Great-World-City just for Al Dente Pronto, but i guess if you are in the region you might just want to give it a try. And it certainly helps if you have the OCBC promotion, p.s: it last until end feb.

    We had a great night chatting around, there was laughter all over the place, and at times i thought the waiter will just kick us out of the place. It was fun fun & fun! Looking forward to the next Yebber gathering! Cheers!

    You are always welcome to visit ladyironchef for a full-up on this trip. Whatever written above are my geniune feelings expressed in words that may be subjected to my personal distortion or bias. Please do not feel emotional or distress should you have any violent objections. Kindly click the little X at the upper, extreme right of your screen if negative adjectives would be derived. Otherwise, feel free to furnish me with comments, may it be positive or negative : )

    ” Italiano delights, Companion enjoyment ”

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:3 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. Polarbear
      Polarbear said:
      To think that younonly met the 2 ladies, wait till u meet the rest of us. Wahahaa....
      30 Jan 2008 at 2:57 pm
    2. ladyironchef
      ladyironchef said:
      Looking forward to be acquainted to you all. hahahah
      30 Jan 2008 at 3:00 pm
    3. feizhu
      feizhu said:
      May I know who does the rest of us entail?
      30 Jan 2008 at 3:09 pm
    4. 3 more comments »
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  3. claud
     140
         
     30 Jan 2008 at 1:33 am
       Al Dente Pronto - Restaurants   Al Dente Pronto - Restaurants   Al Dente Pronto - Restaurants   Al Dente Pronto - Restaurants

    Nice clean place, with ok service and ok food.

    Met up with fellow members for dinner. Thanks to LIC for the 50% discount coupon and my OCBC card, we ordered the most expensive of each category to try.

    For starters, we had Tomato Basil Bruschetta and Grilled Portobello Mushrooms. Mains we ordered Pan-seared Butterfish, Char-grilled Sirloin Steak, Arragosta Pasta and Smoked Chicken Pizza. Desserts were Macadamia scented Creme Brulee and Tiramisu. Drinks ordered were Ice Rasberry Tea, Ice Peach Tea, Shirley Temple and Lime Juice. All the above totaled to $71.20! (including GST and Service Charge)

    I shall keep mine short and sweet. (Partly because my eyes are already half-close now.)

    Tomato Basil Brushetta @ $5 Its either the bread was too big, or the tomatoes were too expensive. Serving wise looks sad. Taste was alright. I like the way they infused the garlic into the bread. Crispy and nice. $2.50 after discount. Cheap lah!

    Grilled Portobello Mushrooms @ $12 First bite was yummy. After that it just started like any other mushrooms. The rocket on this was too bitter. Unlike those I had at Absolute Haven.

    Pan-seared Butterfish @ $20 Too fishy for me. Sauce was tad too saltish.

    Char-grilled Sirloin Steak @ $20 There was nothing charred about this steak. Taste was alright. Meat was too tough. Like the potatoes that was served at the side.

    Arragosta Pasta @ $20 Pasta was too dry, lobster meat was quite fresh and plentiful. First time I saw what I call cucumbers (zucchini) on pasta.

    Smoked Chicken Pizza @ $17 This is perhaps the only thing that I'll order if I ever go back again. The Pizza on photo seems to be plain and boring. But underneath those cheese are chunks of chicken meat. I like the blend of tomatoes and cheese and chicken. Could be better if there were thicker layer of cheese.

    Macadamia scented Creme Brulee @ $8 Taste like custard. Ha! Nothing special about this. Couldn't really taste the macadamia thou.

    Tiramisu @ $9 Texture was too tough and sponge fingers were over soaked in the coffee and brandy. Don't really like it.

    Overall the food was forgettable. I'll not be going back again unless there's 50% discount or someone's treating.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:3 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. ladyironchef
      ladyironchef said:
      Ai seh, beat me to writing the review. hahaha
      30 Jan 2008 at 2:09 am
    2. Bobo
      Bobo said:
      Ya man. Super speed. haha I agree with the last sentence though
      30 Jan 2008 at 8:12 am
    3. Polarbear
      Polarbear said:
      No wonder they have the 50% discount. Haa....
      30 Jan 2008 at 9:03 am
    4. 2 more comments »
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  


Write A Review

By checking this box, I agree with Yebber.com's Terms of Use.

Or use your Facebook account to create a new Yebber ID (no Registration form to fill)


(Minimum of 500 characters)

Rating

  (Click stars to rate)
1 Star - Please Avoid2 Stars - Below Average3 Stars - Average4 Stars - Good5 Stars - Excellent


September's Exchange Rate

1=SGD 0.0587

How Do I Earn Yebber$?
18 Yebbers Online!
Double Yebber Dollar Category for September:

Pets

Click here for future month