You are at Yebber
At Yebber, you can rate, review & find everything from restaurants & shopping to hotels & spas
Notice something wrong here? Edit Business Info
Read Reviews
3.9
from 1 to 5
15 Reviews
Photos of Bangkok - Hotels &TravelsPhotos of Bangkok - Hotels &TravelsPhotos of Bangkok - Hotels &TravelsPhotos of Bangkok - Hotels &TravelsPhotos of Bangkok - Hotels &Travels

    Overall Rating:
    » 15 Reviews for “Bangkok ” - Hotels &Travels


  1. whiteblanko
     61
         
     26 Dec 2008 at 10:05 pm

    bangkok rocks! superb shopping and incredibly cheap food (:

    1. suan lum night market loads of quirky local designer goods, shouldnt cost more than 300B (S$12). grab a few vintage tees at 100B (S$4)!

    2. platinum centre THE place for shopping. food court sells amazing food (sharksfin soup in a claypot for S$6, beef kway teow soup for S$2.20) lovely dresses for average 200B (S$8), tees for average (S$4). good if you're lazy to bargain cos you can't and wont need to here, already so cheap!

    3. pratunam centre relatively interesting night market (6-10pm). didnt manage to visit it during the day. sells everything from second-hand shoes (good for those who hate wearing in their shoes..and dont mind other people's feet smell..), wallets, fried locusts/scorptions, little clothed rabbits, mini youtiao/butterfly bun..

    in pattaya

    1. the avenue very ex. higher end stuff like roxy, nike here. but the supermarket rocks!! loads of japanese goods at cheap prices (i dont understand why) and exotic stuff like reese's peanut butter cup BROWNIE. exotic for suaku me anyways (:

    on a random note, there's this cup noodle that i quite like. its called light meal. claims to have 0.5g of fat! anw the flavor that i got was spicy tung hoon seafood salad. basically u pour in hot water, then drain after the tung hoon is cooked, and finally add in the tom yum seasoning. YUMMY and..light haha.

    oh and swensen's in bangkok/pattaya is VERY CHEAP. like one scoop of ice cream costs only..S$1.60! the sticky chewy chocolate sundae (with malteasers, choc dipped wafer and hot fudge) cost S$2.20. i love ice cream (:

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:4 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. sleepeat
      sleepeat said:
      hi whiteblanko
      29 Dec 2008 at 6:19 pm
    2. sleepeat
      sleepeat said:
      my friends and i going BKK mid Jan 09, situation there OK?
      29 Dec 2008 at 6:21 pm
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  2. Lucardia
     234
          
     04 Nov 2008 at 5:44 pm

    Went on a business trip to Bangkok lately and i have to say, there are certain things i liked and certain things i didn't like about the place.

    Disclaimer: my view may be a little skewed since i spent most of my 6 days in the hotel for job training.

    First off, i'll talk about what i dislike. - Dislike the horrible streets which seem like they just went through an earthquake - dislike the spicy food and hot weather - dislike the crowds and generally clatter - dislike the dirty streets and back alleys - bombs and protests

    Now, we'll talk about what i like: - cheap stuff for shopping - huge shopping malls - superb bargaining - wonderful hotel (i stayed in Sheraton on the 26th floor shared with a male colleague) - superb hotel buffets and food - generally better service then Singapore - CHEAP BEER (USD 90 cents for Tiger beer anyone?) - Elephants on the streets - Ma Boon Kong (enough said) - Awesome sky train that shields and brings you to major hotels and shopping malls - company sponsorship (can't live without it)

    When all is said and done, its more or less justified to risk life and limb to visit the place. Its dilapidated and back in some areas but in others, it excels beyond what SG can offer at times.

    The shopping is legendary and to be honest, i don't even know why i'm paying so much for the same things in Singapore now. However, pros and cons abound as usual.

    Verdict? Visit the place at least once. Get over the horrible streets and expensive hotels and you'll find a place with charm, really cheap stuff and a really different experience.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:4 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. feizhu
      feizhu said:
      You wouldn't want to stay there for an extended period of time. You only went to the urban areas. I had to go to the outlying areas of bangkok. Its even worse there :S
      05 Nov 2008 at 12:15 am
    2. claud
      claud said:
      You experienced bombs and protests while u're there?? I want to go BKK one of these weekends! Saw someone blog about the new young wkend mkt. And looks very interesting! BKK is shopping paradise!
      05 Nov 2008 at 11:45 am
    3. Lucardia
      Lucardia said:
      FZ, i know man. I've been to the outlying areas in previous trips. Claud, yeah, it was quite an eye opener. Yeah, go spend ur year end bonus there. There's lots to get.
      05 Nov 2008 at 12:43 pm
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  3. jerry
     1
       
     27 Oct 2008 at 1:49 am

    BkK,BKK,Bkk,here i come,yearly prayer at Erwan 4 Face Buddha with my family and some shopping.Take boat at Pratunam pier to Bobae wholesale clothes centre(12min) or opposite way to The MAll (30 minutes).Cheap way to exprience local canal transportation and local shopping areas. For dinning,can try Yong Lee Kopitiam at Sukumvit Soi19,very delicious thai chinese Zi Char,come before 8pm,quite pack during dinner,located near Asoke Bts sky Station. Have dinner cruise with Yokyor Marina Restarant cost 140 Bht pp,food a la carte order separate charge(total seafood dinner cruise for 4 cost 2000 Bht)Take Sky Train to Saphan Taksin Station,next proceed down to pier and take Yokyor boat transfer to Yokyor Marina Restaurant,cruise depart at 8pm till 10.30pm along Chao Phraya river. Can also try shopping at Ratchasipek Robinson,Carrefour and Siam Jusco(mostly Local)Can go by subway Thai Cultural Center station. Outer Bangkok,areas visited:Sea World ,Ban Sean,Ko Chang,Ko Samut,Rayong(Banphe) and Pattaya 2006 led tour to White Dragon Temple

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:4 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
      Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!


    Write A Review

    By checking this box, I agree with Yebber.com's Terms of Use.

    Or use your Facebook account to create a new Yebber ID (no Registration form to fill)


    (Minimum of 500 characters)

    Rating

      (Click stars to rate)
    1 Star - Please Avoid2 Stars - Below Average3 Stars - Average4 Stars - Good5 Stars - Excellent


    April's Exchange Rate

    1=SGD 0.0587

    How Do I Earn Yebber$?
    37 Yebbers Online!
    Double Yebber Dollar Category for April:

    Arts & Entertainment

    Click here for future month