You are at Yebber
At Yebber, you can rate, review & find everything from restaurants & shopping to hotels & spas
Notice something wrong here? Edit Business Info
Read Reviews
4.0
from 1 to 5
2 Reviews
5 Raffles Avenue
Fourth Storey, Marina Square
Singapore
Postal code: Show postal code
Telephone: (65) 65-6339-3740
Website:
Category:
Restaurants » Steakhouses
Photos of Morton’s The SteakHouse (The Oriental Singapore) - RestaurantsPhotos of Morton’s The SteakHouse (The Oriental Singapore) - RestaurantsPhotos of Morton’s The SteakHouse (The Oriental Singapore) - RestaurantsPhotos of Morton’s The SteakHouse (The Oriental Singapore) - RestaurantsPhotos of Morton’s The SteakHouse (The Oriental Singapore) - Restaurants

USDA prime-aged steak is just part of the Morton's story. Behind each of the 76 worldwide locations is a thriving team of people whose commitment, passion and loyalty create the foundation for success.

For almost 30 years, we have served only the finest quality foods, featuring USDA prime-aged beef, fresh fish and seafood, hand-picked produce, delicious appetizers and elegant desserts.

Our servers strive to provide unparalleled hospitality to each and every guest.

    Overall Rating:
    » 2 Reviews for “Morton’s The SteakHouse (The Oriental Singapore) ” - Restaurants


  1. His Food Blog
     144
       
     17 Oct 2008 at 1:35 pm
       Morton   Morton   Morton   Morton   Morton

    Mentioned the word “Steak” and Morton’s The Steakhouse will probably come to mind as the pinnacle in classic steakhouse experience.

    Located at a hidden corner on the 4th floor of Mandarin Oriental, entering into the restaurant immediately transport one from a simple boring main façade to a voguish interior of dim lighting and sounds of fine tableware clanks.

    Being HFB’s virgin trip to Morton’s, Tina, our maître d' for the evening, rattled off what seem like a scripted introduction of the various cuts of steaks, as well as seafood, that the restaurants serve as mains before the start of the dinner.

    Following that, the dinner commenced with the much raved about Onion Loaf that HFB was looking forward. A colossal loaf of a bread, that was probably the best complimentary bread that HFB have eaten – served crisp on the exterior and fluffy on the inside, the whiff of the onion exude from the bread when one yank opened, yet it remained subtle on the palate without too overwhelming. It is so good that it goes with butter as well as on its own. And if one is too tempted to finished it, HFB’s advice to you is – DON’T – as Morton’s is also renowned for their generous serving portion.

    Two appetisers were chosen that night – the first being ½ dozen of Pacific Oysters on the Half Shell ($36.00). Served the way HFB expected it to be – on a bed of ice that is, the oysters were fresh but not the most meaty. Thus for $6 a pop, HFB doesn’t found it to be value-worthy.

    The latter was that of the Lobster Bisque Soup ($30.00) that was big enough portion for 2 – but HFB found the single small piece of lobster meat swimming within laughably wretched. While the soup reeked of essence, it was VERY salty towards the end of it, such that HFB have trouble finishing it.

    The mains in Morton’s don’t come with any sides thus a serving of Creamed Spinach, for two, costs an eye-popping $22.00. Serving portion was a gargantuan affair, but what HFB like was how lightly salted and smooth it was to consume. However, too much of the cream and the “jelakness”, or fullness starts to set in.

    The Sautéed Mushrooms ($15.00) were satisfactory. Done al dente and comes with a nice bite, it was salted to taste.

    The celebrated dish that evening would have to be the Aged Australian Filet Mignon ($79.00). Nicely char-grilled on the outside, the lean cut was perfectly executed to medium-rare, exuding sweetness on this tender piece of meat.

    It was definitely the best piece of steak HFB had tasted so far, and rated higher than the Grade 9 Wagyu Ribeye at Astons, as HFB prefers his steak to be “beefy” – something that is lacking in a piece of well-marbled wagyu.

    Regrettably, the Morton’s Legendary Hot Chocolate Cake ($25.00) failed to live up to the tag that evening. Urged on to “die, die” sample the chocolate cake by all my peers who had dined at Morton’s before, it came slightly over-baked and was dry and bitter on the outside.

    Portioning the cake also did not reveal an oozing molten chocolate that HFB was highly anticipating. The only saving grace was the scoop of In-house Vanilla Ice-cream that tasted very good.

    Overall, service was generally good and accommodating, but dinner for two costs $316.60, inclusive of 2 glasses of house-pour wines and taxes, which is very expensive and (steak aside) not value-for-money. Excellent mood created by the furnishing and lighting was also ruined with mindless chatters from various tables as well as the consistence singing of birthday songs (10 times over a 2.5 hours period) – absolutely not recommended for a romantic dinner for two.

    You can view all the photos and other reviews here.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:3 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. Lucardia
      Lucardia said:
      an average score here, a high score below. Now who should i trust? mmm..
      17 Oct 2008 at 5:27 pm
    2. His Food Blog
      His Food Blog said:
      The steak is worth 4.75 stars though :)
      17 Oct 2008 at 6:04 pm
    3. claud
      claud said:
      If I go, I can only order the mushrooms! Wahahaha!
      17 Oct 2008 at 6:46 pm
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  2. feizhu
     506
         
     21 Oct 2007 at 11:58 am
       Morton   Morton   Morton   Morton   Morton

    Had an impromptu dinner last night with a few of my makan khakis at Morton's Steakhouse. The choice was initially IL-Lido, but they didn't have tables until 9pm so we settled for Mortons. (Actually Mortons didn't have a table till 9 as well, but it was in town, so that made it easier for everyone)We were punctual for our reservation and was promptly shown to our table. Even at 9pm, the place was still packed to the brim and rather noisy due to the incessant chatter from the customers. Ironically, the noise made the entire atmosphere pretty exciting and relaxing at the same time. Conversation wasn't difficult as the decibel level was within a reasonable range. That being our first visit to Mortons, we were given a thorough introduction to the variety of mains, sides and desserts as well as the cuts of meat available by a very friendly waitress who tended to us that evening. After some recommendations, we ordered the Double Cut Fillet Mignon, Porterhouse Steak, sides of Hashbrown Potato, Sautéed Wild Mushrooms, Steamed Fresh Broccoli, with the Morton's Famous Hot Chocolate Cake and the Upside Down Apple Pie as desserts.

    Breads are always a bad way to start off your meals as they fill you up really fast, but I couldn't help stuffing myself with the complementary Onion Bread that was served. Served with smooth butter, it was really quite good. However, we ate it after it had turned cold as we were busy taking photos, so my guess would be that it would taste much better if it had been taken fresh from the oven.

    The star of the mains was undoubtedly the Double Cut Fillet Mignon. Perfectly done medium rare and emanating unadulterated sweetness with every bite, chewing on it was sheer ecstasy. The outside of the steak was slightly charred, giving it a nice and subtle grilled taste. Everyone liked it, no questions about it. It was a little small though. We estimated it to be about 16-18 oz only. By the way, just for general information, the fillet mignon is one of the best cuts, if not THE best cut and its also the leanest.

    The Porterhouse was one side Rib Eye and the other Fillet Mignon. I had some grouses with this one. The steak was a little underdone. Medium rare turned out almost rare, which was a little too much for me to bear as there was this metallic taste. The Fillet Mignon side of the steak was also a little underdone, but tasted really good, as with the Double Cut Fillet Mignon that we had ordered. This Porterhouse was a giant, weighing in at 24 oz. (There's the double Porterhouse as well, at 48 oz)Nice big steak. Pity about the cooking though.

    The sides were a gargantuan affair. Each side was simply huge. I mean they are supposed to be sides, yet they look like mains! Nevertheless, we polished every bit of them. The Hashbrown Potato tasted and looked just like Rossi which is(was) sold at Marche. I had expected it to look like those hashbrowns in MacDonalds, so surprise surprise. Top the hashbrown with sour cream and freshly grilled bacon bits and you are ready to go. A little charred and crispy on the inside, soft on the inside. The Steamed Broccoli looked nothing out of the ordinary, yet it was nicely steamed with a tinge of buttery slickness. The Sautéed Wild Mushrooms were pan fried I believe and was quite tasty. However, I did find it a little too soft for my liking.

    What's a meal without desserts? The desserts didn't disappoint one bit. The Upside Down Apple Pie was made from top grade apples and tasted a little sourish. Complementing and balancing the sourish taste was a scoop of smooth homemade ice cream.(Vanilla I presume)

    Morton's signature Hot Chocolate Cake was simply my favourite. Hot Godiva chocolate encapsulated within layers of soft and dense sponge cake with a slightly hardened exterior. Slicing the cake allows the hot and thick chocolate to slowly ooze out. Extremely sweet and sinful. No wonder many ladies are said to have taken a liking to it.

    All in all, an extremely hearty meal. Good food and good companionship - one of the simple pleasures of life. Grand total was about $315 for 3 pax. Definitely expensive, but well worth the money paid. Service was excellent with our waitress being friendly and chatty. Ambience wise, it isn't really a romantic restaurant, but it does have private rooms which look nice and exclusive. I highly recommend checking this place out. On a side note, Oriental Hotel has a very pretty interior. Seeing is believing :)

    See all my pictures here

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:5 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +1
    Comments on this review:
    1. Polarbear
      Polarbear said:
      Been there once and I have to say I have a wonderful time there!
      22 Oct 2007 at 3:49 pm
    2. feizhu
      feizhu said:
      Should go there again!
      22 Oct 2007 at 5:58 pm
    3. Nemesis
      Nemesis said:
      wah going by ur review, really sound yummy..perhaps shld pay a visit there liao
      23 Oct 2007 at 10:46 am
    4. 1 more comment »
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  


Write A Review

By checking this box, I agree with Yebber.com's Terms of Use.

Or use your Facebook account to create a new Yebber ID (no Registration form to fill)


(Minimum of 500 characters)

Rating

  (Click stars to rate)
1 Star - Please Avoid2 Stars - Below Average3 Stars - Average4 Stars - Good5 Stars - Excellent


April's Exchange Rate

1=SGD 0.0587

How Do I Earn Yebber$?
28 Yebbers Online!
Double Yebber Dollar Category for April:

Arts & Entertainment

Click here for future month