You are at Yebber
At Yebber, you can rate, review & find everything from restaurants & shopping to hotels & spas
Notice something wrong here? Edit Business Info
Read Reviews
4.0
from 1 to 5
2 Reviews
Blk 86 Bedok North St 4 #01-179
Telephone: (65) 6446-6096
Website:
Category:
Food and Beverages » Bakeries
Photos of Choc A Bloc - Food & BeveragesPhotos of Choc A Bloc - Food & BeveragesPhotos of Choc A Bloc - Food & BeveragesPhotos of Choc A Bloc - Food & BeveragesPhotos of Choc A Bloc - Food & Beverages

    Overall Rating:
    » 2 Reviews for “Choc A Bloc ” - Food & Beverages


  1. ruffnooka
     19
       
     15 Mar 2008 at 9:51 am
       Choc A Bloc - Food & Beverages

    Choc A Bloc's prices have gone up for 2008. Their 800g cakes are $30. Too expensive for a little cake. Brownies (2 pieces) are $9!!

    What's nice about their cakes is that its really moist, even after keeping it in the fridge for a few days. The richness and moisture is quite exceptional. Worth a try, but expensive to keep eating.

    http://www.chocabloc.biz

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:4 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. Bobo
      Bobo said:
      haha not to mention fattening too. what about their service?
      15 Mar 2008 at 10:17 am
    2. ruffnooka
      ruffnooka said:
      Service is soso. Find them a bit stuck up. They only accept CASH.
      15 Mar 2008 at 10:24 am
    3. ladyironchef
      ladyironchef said:
      hahaha! i guess when their cakes are good, they tend to get a bit over-head. lol
      16 Mar 2008 at 12:02 am
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  2. Lucardia
     234
          
     13 Mar 2008 at 9:28 pm
       Choc A Bloc - Food & Beverages   Choc A Bloc - Food & Beverages   Choc A Bloc - Food & Beverages   Choc A Bloc - Food & Beverages

    Fancy cakes with a strong chocolate twist? Tired of old and run-of-the-mill cakes available everywhere else? Want something reasonably affordable and yet packing in the taste department? Well, welcome to choc-a-bloc. Coincidentally, the word "bloc" actually means blissfully luscious orgasmic chocolate as is positioned on their website. I wouldn't go that far to say their cakes are the best but i do second the fact that they are less common then the rest thus far.

    This is a customized version of the "Mom's coco fudge cake". One thing about the cake is that its generously big (though of course you have to pay for it to be big.) The cake is surprisingly simple and expensive. 2 layers of chocolate and 3 layers of sponge cake is pretty much all you get for the price and yet. It feels surprisingly worthwhile. For one thing, the dark chocolate used is tastefully chosen. Being just the right balance of sweetness and bitterness which it balances very well. So much so that despite the big portion, i had no difficulty in finishing the cake at all. Being a fudge cake, it is also nicely soft and filling. One of the simplest and better tasting cakes i've had actually. I have to say its pretty much on par with the renditions even in Secret Recipe and some french gourmet cakes i've had. (Maybe i just have not eaten enough cakes to have a cake that has a higher standard yet but i'm getting there.)

    I'm interested in having more actually but i do feel the pricing is abit steep and seems to have increased. Anyone who has tried better cakes out there, do let me know so i can try others yeah?

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:4 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. Polarbear
      Polarbear said:
      Hey Lu, copy cat leh, I post a review on cake, you also. Wahahaha...... Looks good. Think will give it a try.
      14 Mar 2008 at 8:50 am
    2. ladyironchef
      ladyironchef said:
      this type of copycat is only good thing for us, so that the competition will make us writes more. lol
      16 Mar 2008 at 12:01 am
    3. Kilkenny
      Kilkenny said:
      Oh my god...enough with the chocolate cake reviews...u guys are killing me...
      17 Mar 2008 at 10:01 am
    4. 1 more comment »
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  


Write A Review

By checking this box, I agree with Yebber.com's Terms of Use.

Or use your Facebook account to create a new Yebber ID (no Registration form to fill)


(Minimum of 500 characters)

Rating

  (Click stars to rate)
1 Star - Please Avoid2 Stars - Below Average3 Stars - Average4 Stars - Good5 Stars - Excellent


February's Exchange Rate

1=SGD 0.0587

How Do I Earn Yebber$?
15 Yebbers Online!
Double Yebber Dollar Category for February:

Beauty & Wellness

Click here for future month