You are at Yebber
At Yebber, you can rate, review & find everything from restaurants & shopping to hotels & spas
Notice something wrong here? Edit Business Info
Read Reviews
3.1
from 1 to 5
20 Reviews
Raffles City Shopping Centre, B1-44E
Telephone: (65) 6837-3793
Category:
Restaurants » Japanese
Photos of Shokudo Japanese Food Bazaar - RestaurantsPhotos of Shokudo Japanese Food Bazaar - RestaurantsPhotos of Shokudo Japanese Food Bazaar - RestaurantsPhotos of Shokudo Japanese Food Bazaar - RestaurantsPhotos of Shokudo Japanese Food Bazaar - Restaurants

    Overall Rating:
    » 20 Reviews for “Shokudo Japanese Food Bazaar ” - Restaurants


  1. sylvdoanx
     30
       
     21 Apr 2008 at 3:10 am

    Nice concept, so-so food, too expensive...

    If you have read some of my reviews you might already know that my boyfriend is a big sucker for Japanese food and since we like to eat together (it's like our favourite pastime as a couple. ahahaha), I agreed when he brought me to this Marche-like Japanese restaurant.

    First impression.. Cool. Stalls offer different food.. And there are purikuras (photo sticker station) at the middle of the restaurant. Didn't try it though.

    Went there twice and our orders were kinda the same. Omu rice.. Gyoza.. Omelette.. Some satays.. Hmm can't remember.. (yes we order a lottttttt)

    The omu rice is like.. er... Rice with tomato ketchup. I know it's supposed to be some tomato rice, but really.. Tastes like rice dipped in tomato sauce. And we gotta wait so long.. About 7 minutes plus. Well I would have been able to agree had the restaurant not been empty (it was not "peak hour"). Same goes to other items. Gotta wait for minutes and minutes and minutes. It's getting irritating when you order a lot and expect to eat soon (and the restaurant is not crowded!) but told to wait wait and wait. Sigh..

    Ended up with 30 plus bill. My wallet is not happy...

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:2 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. Polarbear
      Polarbear said:
      Hmm.... they prepare on the spot. Of cos got to wait. Relax. next time ask ur bf to wait while u wait at the table. Hee.....
      21 Apr 2008 at 8:59 am
    2. sylvdoanx
      sylvdoanx said:
      waiting at the table alone is not enjoyable leh. heh..
      21 Apr 2008 at 4:17 pm
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  2. Lucardia
     234
          
     15 Apr 2008 at 10:27 pm
       Shokudo Japanese Food Bazaar - Restaurants   Shokudo Japanese Food Bazaar - Restaurants   Shokudo Japanese Food Bazaar - Restaurants   Shokudo Japanese Food Bazaar - Restaurants   Shokudo Japanese Food Bazaar - Restaurants

    Shokudo is a name that you can get familiar with in a hurry. Why? Firstly, it has 2 branches already counting this one, being a Marche-like concept and the other located nearby in CityLink which specialized in Pizza and Pasta. We'll be reviewing the Marche lookalike this time around on the food quality.

    Upon queuing and entering the premises, you'll be greeted by friendly serving staff who'll provide you with 2 items. Firstly, you'll receive a card thats basically your best friend, losing the card results in a penalty fee of $100 which is rather absurd if you ask me. The second item you'll receive is a round wooden placeholder thats supposed to reserve a seat for you whereever you put it. However, this simply did not work because our first reservation chip was stolen from our table and some other lady managed to get in our reserved seat... So i'm saying the system may work elsewhere, but apparently not in Singapore. The interior of the Bazaar is split into several different themes with a food court like design in the middle, more colorful lighting and cushy seats in other areas. Rather pleasing and different from an aesthetic perspective. The food preparation areas resemble Marche with the exception of everything being Japanese food or fusion in some instances. The only problem i had with the arrangement is the waiting time for each order. Its pretty ridiculous to wait 20 mins for a beef burger but i'll get to that later. The service staff were alright and courteous but can be improved for sure.

    Wasabi Toro Cheese Burger ($7.80) - The name is nice, wasabi toro burger. Whatever that means i'm not too sure but to me, its a beef burger with a supremely small patty of beef wrapped in an extremely bad tasting and oversized bun. I had to wait close to 20 minutes for the above. Can you see where the time went into preparing it? I certainly couldn't unless they mashed and prepared the patty on the spot but i highly doubt that. The bun is fused to an egg which thankfully made it bearable but the miserly portion of beef was terrible visually. Not to mention that when tasted, it simply wasn't up to par, being dry and too hard. Simply terrible.

    Bacon and cheese Omelette ($5.80) - My gf ordered this and the next item. Thankfully they were more palatable then my horrible choice but even then, not by much. The bacon and cheese omelet was a really small portion which could be finished in 4 spoonfuls. The omelet itself was served warm and with bacon and cheese melting within it. A little too salty however.

    Rosti with Sausages ($9.80) - Since when did rosti become a Japanese item? Nonetheless, in a world of below average food, this managed to be a cut above the rest. Fragrant, hot and crispy with a soft interior. This took the crown that day but thats certainly not saying much. The sausage that came with it was your run-of-the-mill sausage with cheese in it. It wasn't bad per se but nothing exciting about it as well. The one thing about this dish is, its oily to a fault. You'll notice it the moment you have your first bite until your nausea inducing ending.

    A mediocre and sub par meal came up to $27.50 for 2 people. If i'm ever in the vicinity again, i'll stay far far away.

    I don't know what the matter is. The food portions were pathetic. The service was slow. The true japanese items were price sky high and the seats were only moderately comfortable. Why would i pay to eat here when there are so many better places out there? Good for people who want to see what the buzz is about but if the quality and portion size doesn't improve, i fear a quick exit will be the order of the day.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:1 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. claud
      claud said:
      There's many other choices mah. Perhaps the others not tat bad?
      15 Apr 2008 at 10:33 pm
    2. Lucardia
      Lucardia said:
      Duno, but i;m not going to find out. I find the prices they charge ridiculous.
      15 Apr 2008 at 10:35 pm
    3. Polarbear
      Polarbear said:
      Next time eat with us, it will make ur meal more enjoyable. Wahahahaha
      16 Apr 2008 at 10:40 am
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!
  3. Jappy
     2
       
     09 Apr 2008 at 11:31 pm

    Never judge the food by its queue. Food is low quality given its price. Service is bad. No decent Japanese will visit this place. At most go try it out of curiousity and Never be back! Ambience like canteen with all the bickering. No service and wonder why pay 17% GST and service charge. Food court jappy meals offer better value. Having said that, I trust all of U to form your own conclusions. I think this place wont last more than a couple of years honestly.

    Tags: 3  add tags
    Rating given:1 stars
    Was this review useful?  
     
      +0
    Comments on this review:
    1. Polarbear
      Polarbear said:
      Hmm... wonder what could have happen to you as in for you to give such negative reviews. Relax. Have to say that if u wanna authentic jap food, you cannot find it there. Better to go sushi teh upstair
      10 Apr 2008 at 10:06 am
    2. Jappy
      Jappy said:
      They deserve the comments. Sushi Teh not good enough. Try En or Zen in Mohammad Sultan Road
      10 Apr 2008 at 6:57 pm
    Login to add your comment. Or, Register for an account now. It's free!


Write A Review

By checking this box, I agree with Yebber.com's Terms of Use.

Or use your Facebook account to create a new Yebber ID (no Registration form to fill)


(Minimum of 500 characters)

Rating

  (Click stars to rate)
1 Star - Please Avoid2 Stars - Below Average3 Stars - Average4 Stars - Good5 Stars - Excellent


June's Exchange Rate

1=SGD 0.0587

How Do I Earn Yebber$?
21 Yebbers Online!
Double Yebber Dollar Category for June:

Nightlife

Click here for future month